Using WordPress.com App for Facebook

WordPressFacebookLogo copy WordPress.com has come out with a new application, WordPress.com App for Facebook. I figured after I saw this post I would have to check it out. Currently I have my blog posts using the Notes feature, but the implementation isn’t very robust.

Signing Up

Facebook-WordPressAppAdd

  • Configure WordPress for Facebook

Know who I am and access my information

Put a box in my profile

Place a link in my left-hand navigation

Publish stories in my News Feed and Mini-Feed

Place a link below the profile picture on any profile

Facebook-WordPressAppAddAllow

  • You will be prompted to Log in to WordPress. I left the screen shot smaller, as there is not really much to see. Just typical Username / Password.

Facebook-WordPressAppLogin

Configure

  • Configure WordPress.com App for Facebook. On your profile page, click WordPress and you will be able to configure the WordPress.com App. Configuration has 5 tabs: Home, Post, Bookmark, Stats and Frinds.

Home – on the home tab, there are links to each of the tabs

Facebook-WordPressApp-Home

Post – Create a post for your blog

Facebook-WordPressApp-Post 

How the post looks on WordPress

Bookmark – Bookmark a link – honestly I am not really sure what this is supposed to do . . .

Facebook-WordPressApp-Bookmark

Stats – Displays page views from Today and Yesterday

Facebook-WordPressApp-Stats

Friends – Recent WordPress blog posts from your Facebook friends

Facebook-WordPressApp-Friends

Facebook Profile Page

Your Profile page, will now display recent posts and comments from your blog

Facebook-ProfileWordPress

Overall I think the functionality of the WordPress.com application is good. Anyone who wants to cleanly display entries from their WordPress.com blog will be able to use this App.

Feature Requests

There are some features that this App needs:

  • There is no link to get back from the WordPress configuration screen back to facebook. If this is a facebook app, I should be able to easily get back to facebook.
  • There should be options that allow you to configure how many posts and comments are displayed on facebook.
  • I had trouble editing options, I was unable to log back into the WordPress app.

Summary

Previously I have been using the Note App to display my blog entries on my facebook profile. I like it, but it displays more of a RSS feed.

The WordPress.com really highlights your blog entries and I think they look good on the page. If you are looking for a good application to display your WordPress blog, this would be it.

19 Responses to “Using WordPress.com App for Facebook”

  1. Opal: Vegan Momma Says:

    Oh cool! I’ll have to check it out. I use FaceBook. If I see you I’ll add you. I think the bookmarks is a social bookmark so I imagine it works like Delicious, Stumbled Upon, or Digg. I’m just guessing I haven’t logged in to check it out yet. I’ll do that later today.

  2. Thomas Says:

    Opal – Definitely give me an add. If you figure out what the bookmarks does, let me know, and I will add that information to the post with credit!

  3. James Says:

    Actually, I think bookmarks does the same thing in the Facebook app as it does in the normal interface, that is, it adds links to your sidebar.

  4. Thomas Says:

    James – Thanks for the additional information, it is an option I will have to try out.

    This is one of the best things about comments, people are always willing to add information and updates, or even correct you when things are not quite right.

  5. Chris Says:

    Great post, thanks for the info.

    Will this app work with WordPress blogs hosted outside of wordpress.com?

    I currently use the Notes feature to import my blog posts. Some of my readers comment in Facebook, and some comment on my blog. The killer app would somehow mirror the comments so that readers in both places could benefit from each other.

    Anyway, thanks for the review. Helpful.

  6. Thomas Says:

    Chris – My understanding is that currently the WordPress.com app for facebook works strictly with a blog hosted on WordPress.com. I believe they are working on a version that works with all WordPress blogs, but I am not sure of their timeline.

    An app that mirrors comments between your blog and facebook sounds like a great idea waiting to happen.

  7. Erica Says:

    Your instructions are great, especially for newbie bloggers. Thanks!

  8. Thomas Says:

    Erica – Thanks for stopping by and commenting. It is nice to know that people are finding what I am writing helpful.

  9. It’s the Weekend - Time to Relax! « Five Blondes Says:

    [...] know about it by adding the WordPress app to your profile. We found a blogger who posted great instructions on adding the WordPress app to your profile. Thanks, [...]

  10. thedakotakid Says:

    Hello,

    when I install this app, it does not list my name in the configure screen, any ideas? I did log in to wordpress, but it still not list my old or new blogs.

    Any ideas?
    Dustin

  11. Focus Prints Says:

    thanks for the instructions, very easy to follow, great help many thanks!!

  12. Niurka Strong Says:

    I have tried for days to do this and I do not get the first screen you show once I click on “add the WordPress.com App to my FB account” my wordpress icon used to open up to my blog when I clicked on it, but now it does not. Any suggestions?

  13. Niurka Strong Says:

    This does not work for me. Somehow when I click on adding the application there are no familiar screens like the ones shown here

  14. branded mugs Says:

    doesnt work for me same error as niurka, can anyone help?

  15. gifts promotional Says:

    nor me either, gave up after about 10 tries and on 3 different browsers

  16. taiseunglo Says:

    can’t get it to work. Got this message
    You are not allowed to create posts or drafts on this site.

  17. dkpct Says:

    This does not work for me. I can get as far as adding the wordpress app to my facebook but then it doesn’t do anything. Can anyone help or suggest another way to get my wordpress blog on my facebook profile page?

  18. dkpct Says:

    This does not work for me. I can get as far as adding the wordpress app to my facebook but then it doesn’t do anything. Can anyone help or suggest another way to get my wordpress blog on my facebook profile page?

  19. nimsnews Says:

    Doesn’t work for me either. As mentioned above by others.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

