Link Karma

image As I was reading copyblogger, two things stood out:

  1. This quote – Bad artists copy. Great artists steal. ~Pablo Picasso
  2. A series post, Link Karma, by Brian Clark which links to good posts.

In the spirit of the first quote I will be copying, as I don’t consider myself great, the idea of a Link Karma post. For now I will use the same title, but ideas are floating around in my head concerning a different post title. In my Link Karma post I will be linking to blogs that I read that might not fit a particular category.

These are just articles that I have run into that I think are worth reading.

The idea that there is no original content; you are making unique connections that others might not have made yet.  Here is the art of stealing content to be a great artist in How to Steal Great Content Ideas, by Brian Clark. Imitation is the most sincere form of flattery, Brian I hope you feel flattered by my using the Link Karma title and not litigious.

Opal over at Vegan Momma wrote a post High Blood Pressure: Six Ways You Can Lower Your Blood Pressure Naturally. This post gives some excellent advice about natural ways to lower your blood pressure. Opal writes posts that are easy to read with good solid information.

Jeremiah Owyang Web Strategy by Jeremiah addresses the issue of users creating content and uploading it to a variety of sites in his post The need to centralize a brand in a decentralized world. Jeremiah was good enough to allow me to film an  conversation we had, and was very supportive through the process. He is not only a great guy, he has good information on his blog.

Introduction to The Ill Doctrine. I linked to Jay Smooth in my post *Fresh Voices in Video Blogging. Jay Smooth is a highly intelligent guy who discusses the Hip Hop scene. You may not be into Hip Hop, but that doesn’t mean you won’t be interested in what he has to say. Jay has a great video series. Honestly, this video blog has motivated me to blog smarter.

*OK – I don’t think the point of a Link Karma post is to link to yourself, but if you did not see my original post, it is worth checking out.

Want to know more about StumbleUpon? Meg Tsiamis of Dipping into the Blogpond wrote a great post Beginners Guide to StumbleUpon. In her post Meg writes up what she believes are the most important things you will need to know to get started using StumbleUpon. I initially found StumbleUpon to be confusing, but Meg clarified the whole process.

Use Adobe Illustrator to use the application to imitate the images in A Scanner Darkly in Grade-A Illustration from John Nack on Adobe. John is currently on vacation in Ireland, but he usually writes post on graphic design, art and Adobe information.

Joe Hunkins of Joe Duck wrote Blogging Revolution – off with their LINKS! The idea was that he was looking for blogs other than A list. The question I posed to him was – how is it you plan to locate all this content. Joe has questioned whether content is still king, I stay content is still king, but now the trick will be locating that content in the avalanche of material that is being added to the Internet.

In the name of good karma, I found the graphic on the site for The Canadian Centre of His Holiness the Gyalwa Karmapa.

7 Responses to “Link Karma”

  1. Brian Clark Says:

    More than happy for you to use the title. I’d be happy if lots more people did too. :)

  2. Opal Tribble Says:

    Thanks for the mention Thomas. It definitely wasn’t expected but it’s appreciated.

  3. Opal Tribble Says:

    I’m going to check out the other websites you’ve listed. I already have Jeremiah and Jay in my RSS feed thanks to you.

  4. Thomas Says:

    Brian – Thanks for taking the stealing of the title as the compliment it was meant to be. And for the record, more than two things stood out on the copyblogger site, those were just the two I was going to deal with in this post. Copyblogger has a ton of really good information on making your blog better.

    Opal – You write good posts that are easy to read, you are definitely worth mentioning. This is just one of my first, as I can already think of articles that should have been included.

  5. Opal Tribble Says:

    Thomas,
    I learned to drop the “million dollar words” and just talk to people. My father is an excellent role model. He’s brilliant, but he speaks in a way where almost anyone can understand him.

    The only people that will be able to understand when you talk that way is those that speak that language and you might turn some of them off also.

    I actually came across one of the professional bloggers and in one of his posts he said he spoke that way because he didn’t want to interact with everyone. I was shocked and had to read that a few times before it sank in.

    That really turned me off and I never went back to his blog again He didn’t start at the top when it came to making money online so why exclude a newcomer who might want to learn how to get where he is?

    I want to virtually interact with as many people as possible and it won’t happen talking like that.

    I definitely understand, on certain topics, some people will be excluded because you need to understand the subject to fully appreciate what the person is talking about.

    Often when I read my posts and wonder at the tone. I definitely don’t want to come off as “preachy” when I write about nutrition. I’m passionate and have a genuine concern for others health, but when I do write about health issues I try to write in a way where people realize that I’m not talking down to them but I hope it makes them think.

  6. Thomas Says:

    Opal – Being picky about who reads your blog, that sounds kind of elitist to me. As we have talked about before, I think the more knowledge you have, the more obligated you are to share it.

    Sometimes we will talk about a topic that is foriegn to people, but hopefully we write about it in a way that interests people. Take Jay Smooth, I am watching his videos about Hip Hop.

    No matter what your topic, I always find your content accessible, readible and containing good explanations.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

