Happy New Year

Las Vegas New Years Eve fireworks

Let me wish all of you a Happy New Year. I found the photograph on the site, Vegas Tripping, a sinners guide to Las Vegas. I have great memories of Vegas as that is where Shannon and I got married, and I actually spent New Years for 2000 there, so it seemed fitting to use that picture.

I have been absent the last couple of days as I have actually been on vacation and spending time with the family.

Our family New Years Eve tradition is to get dressed up and go to a fancy dinner. This year we had dinner at Pazzo, a great Italian restaurant. The food was excellent, and as Shannon is familiar with the chefs we got to talk to the great people that we were responsible for making our food. We make our reservations early, so we are finished with dinner and back home before 8. That way we actually get to ‘go out’ and have a fancy dinner, but are home before everyone starts drinking and driving.

I would let you know what my New Years resolutions are, but I try to make resolutions when needed and not wait for the New Year to make them.

Wishing you the best in 2008!

7 Responses to “Happy New Year”

  1. Mike Goad Says:

    Cool photo!

    Happy New Years to you also!

    Our tradition is to drink a little — usually one drink each — have some crackers and cheese and occasionally some other snacks and go to bed a little later than normal, but before midnight.

  2. Thomas Says:

    Mike – Sounds like you have a good tradition going. At home, cozy and safe is an excellent way to bring in the new year – hopefully there is a nice roaring fire to complete that picture.
    Now that Nicole is a teenager, the last couple of years, she has been staying up until midnight to watch the ball drop in Times Square with me, which is nice because Shannon is in bed by 10 ;).

  3. Opal Tribble/Vegan Momma Says:

    I agree with Mike it is a lovely photo by the time New Year hit I was sleeping I figured it would be there when I awoke the next day, lol. Normally I would have been awake but I was wiped out so sleep came early.
    I’m like yourself I make my goals as needed.

  4. David Airey Says:

    That is a great photo!

    Wishing you all the best too.

  5. Thomas Says:

    Opal – It sounds like quite a few people were in bed by midnight. I agree that New Years will still be there when you wake up. Taking care of yourself and getting the rest you need is an excellent way to bring in the new year.

    David – You have started off the new year quite well yourself. You managed to get your site back, and increased your exposure and readership. Now that the dust is settling you may find that the website hack may turn out to be a blessing in disguise.

  6. TGH Says:

    Ok, this isn’t me being a pain (just curious) and teeni would likely follow this up by calling me Mr. Technical, but wouldn’t the ball drop at 9PM your time or do they tape delay it? As someone who has maybe only spent 4 weeks of my life outside of the Eastern timezone, it always throws me for a loop when things I take for granted are now on at a different time (such as football being on Sunday morning out there). I would find it odd that they would tape delay New Year’s.

  7. Thomas Says:

    TGH – Until your excellent question, the time zone issue is something I rarely question. The ball does drop at midnight here on the West Coast, so there must be a time delay.
    It would be pretty disappointing to watch the ball drop at 9:00 ;)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

