The Art of Forgiveness

There has been a lot of tragic news surrounding our children lately.

I saw this article on MSNBC.com Amish display the true meaning of forgiveness.  I have to say that I find this truly amazing.

My favorite superhero’s, were the superhero’s that dealt with vengeance: Batman – The Dark Knight, Ghost Rider, and The Punisher.  I have to say in my life, there are some things that I have held a grudge or two against.

The article concerning the Amish is amazing, and I find them to be real superhero’s that are worth emulating.  We live in a fast paced world, and it seems that people tend to be rude, abrupt and self centered.  But this community that lost so many of its young girls, is not only talking about forgiving, but is showing forgiveness.

My wife and I talk about the fact that kids and animals shouldn’t have to be sick or have pain.  When you treat them, you aren’t able to explain, that yes this treatment hurts, but you will feel better in the long run.

I heard in the news that one girl in the schoolhouse offered to go first, and another offered to go second, in the hopes they would deter the gunman from killing the rest.  These young girls displayed a real understanding of sacrifice.  Not just in explanation, but the willingness to put themselves in a harmful situation in the hopes of saving others.

In stark contrast – there is this article about the man who killed the accused molester of his 2 year old daughter.  I can’t say that I don’t disagree with the actions this guy took. If something like this happened to my daughter, I find it hard to try and work things out rationally in my mind.

It seems to me that as a nation we have a serious disconnect concerning responsibilities for our on actions.  People want to blame (shakes magic 8-ball) society, abusive parents, horrible job, but don’t want to take responsibility for the actions the do.

For the most part, I tend to think of myself as a pretty enlightened person, but this display of forgiveness illustrates that as far as I have come from my anger filled younger years, I still have light years to go.

I don’t really have an answer for this, but I think it is definitely worth discussing.  Myself, I believe in Karma, so I try to tread softly and live by example.  Apparently I still have a lot to learn.

Update – Associate additional tags with post

Technorati tags: , ,
Leave a Reply

