Post Using Windows Live Writer Beta

This is a first post written on this blog using Windows Live Writer Beta. I am by no means a professional blogger, I have used Live Writer to write my blog ScissorMonkey on Live Spaces, and I have to say I think it works quite well. The only other blog writing utilities I have used are the web-based utilities on WordPress and Live Spaces.

Example of a graphic added using editor-

As I add this image I have the options of sizing the image, and configuring how the graphic affects text, and can include some effects.

Some of the benefits of using Live Writer include:

  • Creating a blog post off line to be uploaded at a later time when you are connected
  • A solid WYSIWYG editor
  • Ability to create and save drafts so you can save a post and finish it later without it actually being posted to your blog
  • I have used this editor on my Live Spaces blog since August 2006, and I have not encountered any problems
  • Easy to setup, easy to use
  • Easy to add pictures or insert links
  • Gallery of plug ins created to extend the product

The information for the product states it is as easy to write a blog post, as it is to write an email.  I would have to agree with this statement.

Windows Live Writer Beta is a pretty interesting application, and if you like to blog you should give it a try.

During installation you are prompted to add the URL of your blog, and then add the username / password used to connect to your blog.  After writing an entry, click Publish and you are posting entries to your blog.  It really is that simple.

I judge a good application on a couple of criteria:

  • Ease of initial set up and use – A product should be easy to set up, and get started on.
  • Additional functionality in the product – Once you have learned your way around the product, there are more powerful things you can do by digging into the application.

I have found applications that are good, but aren’t that easy to use. This is a barrier to have new users adopt. On the flip side, there are applications that are very easy to use but only perform one function. If you need that single function you luck out, if not then the application isn’t for you.

I like Jeff Sandquist’s Microsoft Manager of Channel 9 and Channel 10, 7 day software rule – The idea is that once you’ve used a piece of software for seven days you’ll know whether it is a keeper or not. If you do not a product within 7 days uninstall it.

Windows Live Writer Beta can be downloaded here – http://get.live.com/betas/home, try it for 7 days and see what you think.

Check out the Windows Live Writer blog for additional information.

For full disclosure, I will mention that I work for Microsoft as a Technical Writer, but I am not affiliated with the Windows Live Writer product.

Update – After I uploaded my initial entry, I tried to edit the entry using the WordPress tools, and the post was lost. At this time I am new enough to WordPress to say the fault could be mine.

Update 2 – this post had disappeared. I was configuring the time zone, and this post got the date changed to tomorrow.

2 Responses to “Post Using Windows Live Writer Beta”

  1. DamionKutaeff Says:

    Hello everybody, my name is Damion, and I’m glad to join your conmunity,
    and wish to assit as far as possible.

  2. tefal optigrill user manual Says:

    Hello There. I discovered your blog using msn. That is a
    very neatly written article. I will be sure to bookmark it and come back to learn extra of your useful information. Thank you for the post.
    I will definitely comeback.


Leave a Reply

