Google Notebook and OneNote

I was reading through Scoble’s link blog, and I came across this post from  Mike Torres on Torres Talking – App’s I’m trying out.

Mike mentions that he is trying Google Notebook , excerpt from his blog concerning Google Notebook:

Trust me when I say that I don’t want to use this – but as much as I love OneNote, I can’t handle the fact that it isn’t a hosted service.  When you have 5 different PCs and Macs + a smartphone and you want access to your notes from anywhere, OneNote synchronization just doesn’t cut it.  So I’m giving Google Notebook a try for a personal project (note: NOT for corporate use – I would never store my job-specific notes on Google servers).

I am a Technical Writer / Content Developer and I will have to try this service out.  He last note was the first thing that came to mind when Mike mentioned hosted service- the highlighting for emphasis is mine. I think this would be a real problem if you do any kind of Content Development at a job where the content should not be available to the public as you are gathering content.

I will say that I appreciate the competition from Google Notebook, that just keeps the market segment interesting and challenges the providers in that market to continue to innovate.

I was actually going to create a post on OneNote.  It took me 3 false starts a couple of years ago to actually figure out how to work with it, now I can’t imagine living without it.

Chris Pratley a designer on the OneNote Team has an interesting blog concerning OneNote. I wonder what Chris thinks about Google Notebook?

If you do any kind of note taking or content collection that you need to search and manage quickly and easily OneNote is definitely the tool for you.

Off the top of my head here are some groups that I can see would greatly benefit from using OneNote –

  • Students – take notes during lectures and being able to sort, search and manage them easily.
  • Content Developers – Gather content from a variety of sources to easily manage and search.
  • Managers – A single location to store meeting notes and tasks associated to different employees.

Honestly a day doesn’t go by that I don’t spend multiple hours using OneNote. OneNote, Outlook and a Web browser are the 3 tools I spend most of my time in.

The biggest reasons I am a huge fan of OneNote:

  • Ability to gather a bunch of content in a single area.
  • All content is easily and quickly searched, sorted and managed.
  • Ability to share content.

I will create a post were I go further into depth on the capabilities of OneNote and how I use them on a day to day basis.

I challenge you to try OneNote and Google Notebook using the 7 day software test and then let me know what you think of the different products.

One Response to “Google Notebook and OneNote”

  1. 5 mistakes Says:

    Your site is pretty cool to me and your subject matter is very relevant. I was browsing around and came across something you might find interesting. I was guilty of 3 of them with my sites. “99% of website managers are guilty of these 5 HUGE errors”. http://tinyurl.com/bn4kol9 You will be suprised how simple they are to fix.


Leave a Reply

