ISSA Meeting at PSU

I meet a good group of Business / Information System students at the ISSA Meeting at Portland State University, PSU.

I initially had some problems with my laptop – I have been trying trial / beta software on it, so it isn’t overly surprising that it is starting to die. I will have to start using Virtual PC 2007 – from the product website –

Use Microsoft Virtual PC 2007 to run multiple operating systems at the same time on the same physical computer. Switch between virtual machines with the click of a button. Use virtual machines to run legacy applications, provide support, train users, and enhance quality assurance.

That way if there is a problem on the machine, I can just start the image back from scratch. Easier to start an image from scratch, than have my laptop re-imaged. More about Virtual PC later.

The first 10 minutes or so I gave the demo without any slides – I just gave an overview of my careers in technology talk – basically a geared up version of the one I gave at the NW Youth Career Expo.

I reviewed the careers that are available and then the students asked questions. They asked some good question – remember being in college about to graduate and you weren’t sure what your realistic next steps were? I tried to bridge that gap, and let them know what types of careers are available and what it will take to get them there.

Hopefully a few from the talk will drop by ScissorMonkey, I hope they found the talk informative, they seemed to, but they are students so they are used to faking interest.

If any of you from PSU or other students are here, feel free to ask your career oriented questions and I will do what I can to help. Being that many schools offer different classes, I am probably not the best person to ask specific class questions to, but I will try to offer career direction advice if you want.

Leave a Reply

