Windows Live Writer Embedded Video

As I was creating my last post on Fix8 – Generate Computer Animated Video Clips with your Webcam, I noticed the following after I embedded the YouTube video as an example, take a look at the following screen shot:

livewriterbeta2-embedvideo2

Note that Windows Live Writer displays the embedded video in the content area.

To embed video,

  1. On YouTube in the about area, one of the text boxes says embed, copy this content.
  2. Switch back to Windows Live Writer.
  3. I typed XX as a placeholder on the line where I wanted the video. Switch the View to HTML Code.
  4. Highlight XX and paste the embedded video code.
  5. Switch the View to Web Layout.
  6. Bask in the glow of the embedded video.

Personally I think that functionality is pretty cool.

Enjoy!

Update – Although the video displays in the Windows Live Writer content window correctly, it does not properly upload to WordPress. To Upload a video in WordPress you must use their online Manage Post editor.

Technorati tags: , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Windows Live Writer Embedded Video”

  1. Thomas Says:

    Scott – Thanks for the link to your video plug-in. If this makes uploading video easier I am all for it.

    I got excited when I saw it appear in WLW, only to be really bummed when it did not show up correctly in my blog.

    I will review the plug-in and let you know what I think.

  2. Scøtt Says:

    Unfortunately the plugin doesn’t allow for uploading videos to YouTube et al, what it doesn allow is for you to easily insert videos that are already on those sites into your blog entry.

  3. Thomas Says:

    Scøtt – thanks for the clarification. I was not clear in my post, but that is what I meant.

    I definitely appreciate people keeping me honest!

  4. Thomas - Technical Blogger Windows Live Writer - Upload Video Plug-in « Says:

    […] Live Writer – Upload Video Plug-in June 3rd, 2007 — Thomas The other day I posted Windows Live Writer Embedded Video, and how cool I thought is was the video I embedded displayed right in Live […]

  5. making money fast Says:

    Its like you read my thoughts! You seem to grasp
    a lot approximately this, like you wrote the e-book in
    it or something. I feel that you can do with a few percent to force the message home a bit, but other than that, that is magnificent blog.
    An excellent read. I’ll certainly be back.


Leave a Reply

