The Face Behind The Blog Collection

When we blog we become part of a global community. We can communicate across countries, communities, race and religion. Time zones do not affect us – we tend to be obsessive compulsive and most of us are online a majority of the time anyway.

We get insights into each others thoughts work and families, but we don’t really know what the blogger looks like. There is a radio mystique similar to your favorite radio station personality – we definitely recognize their voice and style, but we only have an idea of what the person looks like. When we do finally see them – I know for me they normally look nothing like what you think.

David Airey started an interesting idea –

facebehindtheblog

Putting a face to the name of someone you haven’t met helps recognition and adds a more personal feel to your conversations.

As blogging is truly international, and the chances of meeting the people behind your favourite blogs are slim, today I’m announcing The Face Behind The Blog meme.

What photograph shows you in a light we don’t often see through your blog?

So this isn’t typical post on a technical blog, but in the spirit of community building, continue to see my participation. I have split the post so for those of you that are uninterested can scroll down, and miss some interesting pictures of me (ok not really that interesting).

1st Step – Photos of me (Thomas – Technical Blogger @ ScissorMonkey)

In no particular time sequence

ThomasPyramid

1 – Me at Pyramids of Giza, Egypt (Yes it was a great trip)

MVC-002S

2 – My Wife (Shannon) and I (We are Far Left)

FamilyVegas

3 – Family – Shannon, Nicole and I (Back in 2003)

MVC-011S

4 – Always ready to present

P5130005

5 – Not the best – but L – R: My Mother, Me, Nicole (under the influence of Cold Medicine), and Shannon (Most recent picture)

2nd  Step – Links to other members of the community

Gayla at Mom Gadget
Char at Essential Keystrokes
Paul at Reflections
Rob at 2Dolphins
Zep at The In-Sect
Ingo at Stixster
Stevie at Lost In Cyberspace

The Paper Bull at (oddly enough) The Paper Bull
Lisa Sabin-Wilson at Just A Girl In The World
Dawud Miracle at dmiracle.com
Wendy Piersall at eMoms at Home
Dennis Bjørn Petersen at Petersen Inc.
Randa Clay at Randa Clay Design
Drew McLellan at The Marketing Minute

Becky McCray at Small Biz Survival
Phil Gerbyshak at Make it Great!
Steve Woodruff at StickyFigure
Dave Olson at Live the GREAT life that you desire
Greg at Become a Remote Control SEO
Ariane Benefit at Neat Living Blog
Genesis at the At Home Mom Blog

Armen at iFFECT.NET
Mihaela Lica at Online Public Relations
Tara at Graphic Design Blog
Doris Chua at Home Office Women
Edward Mills at Evolving Times
Tony D. Clark at Success from the Nest
Jonathan-C Phillips at SmartWealthyRich

Karen at A Deaf Mom Shares Her World
Lisa Gates at intrinsic life design
Rammel Firdaus at rammelfirdaus.com
Carol at Pentimento
Adam Kayce at Monk at Work

Update to Add Meme Members- 06.13.07

Tammy Lenski at I Can’t Say That!

Chris Brown at Branding & Marketing
Rory Sullivan at Hamelife
Derek Wong at Going The Wong Way
Embuck at embuck.com
Ms. Q at QMusings

Shelly Tucker at This Eclectic Life
Steve at Ramblings from the Marginalized
Troy Worman at on!blog
Lilith at Lilith’s Owl Nest
Revov at REVO-OVER

Update to Add Meme Members- 06.21.07
Karin at Stop/Start
Sha at Sha Money Maker dot com

Update to Add Meme Members 07.08.07

Derrick Sorles at Life By Design
Ken Xu at Mysites Advisor dot com
Roberta at Roberta Ferguson

Donovan at Blog That Outside
Leanne Wildermuth at Artist by Nature
Ingrid at Through My Eyes
Don Lawson at Affiliate Watcher
The Giddy Tiger at Giddy Tigers

Mike Busson at Twenty Steps (very witty, Mike)
Rosemarie at Miscellaneous Matters
Charity at Design Adaptations
Nancy at Erik Quinn: The Heart of a Family
Robyn McMaster at Brain Based Biz

Update 10.02.07 – There have been quite a few additions to the meme. Adding these additional people.

Chris at Chris Hoyt
Faddy at Girl Next Door
Thess at In Nederland
Jean at A Great Pleasure

Suzie at 1Day@ATime
Jason at Blisslogs
Johnny at Really Smart Guy
Bob at BobMeetsWorld.com
Chin Nee at De ‘moments

Skipper at My Life Starts At Forty-Two
Seiche at Seiche
Leah at Leah’s Cafe
iRonnie at I Set No Corner
Andrew Boyd at Facibus on Blogging

Josie at Josie Two Shoes
Dr Ellen Webber at Brain Based Business
Mika at Text Unlimited
Nell at Tales of a Melodramatic Moron
Pen at the pen is mightier than the sword

Jamie at Terinea Weblog
Orlanes at Wanderlust
Cheh at Moderately confused Pinay in Deutschland
Mrs Pektus at Borrowed Heaven
K at K, speaking!

Chase at Queer Chef
Hanne at Lucid Unreality
Jill at Gelb9
Tish at The Kat House
Jessica at Life is RANTastic!

Logtar at Logtar’s Blog
Julie at TeacherJulie.com
Wilson at Get it Funk
Sue at Life in the Urban Zoo
Isabelle at Tricotine

Alternati at Sarcasm Aside
Mousey at Sasha Says
Diana at Nazarene Family Services
Jen at Expat Travels
Meeyauw at meeyauw

Tammi at Drawing on Words
Jams at The Poor Mouth
Mar at maremagnum
Karen Delaney at A Strange Life
Lynnette at The Fun Times Guide

Trish at Incoherent-ish
Lisa at Lisa C Writes
Becky at Becky’s Nook
Dora at Peppylady
Renny at RennyBA’s Terella

Autumn at Autumn’s Meadow
Jen at Jen’s Horde
Sandy Carlson at Writing in Faith
Captain Lifecruiser at Sea Lifecruiser

3rd – Tag others

I got nothin – if you have made it through this far, and have not participated in the face behind the blog, I choose you.

Update to Add a Tag – 06.21.07

Bluerose at Death Blog for Cutie who also blogs at

Death Blog for Cutie on Blogger

Note – Now Bluerose has already decided not to participate, but I figured I would ‘officially’ tag her.

4th – Notify David

Expect notification shortly.

Technorati tags: , ,

70 Responses to “The Face Behind The Blog Collection”

  1. David Airey :: Creative Design :: Says:

    Great post, Thomas!

    I’m very envious that you’ve seen the pyramids. It’s something I have to do too!

    Hopefully by the end of the year I’ll have seen the Taj Mahal and and few other sights in India, but Africa is a continent I’ve yet to sample.

    Thanks for contributing and I’ll go ahead and add you to the original list.

    Bye for now.

  2. The Face Behind The Blog Collection : David Airey :: Creative Design :: Says:

    […] Karen at A Deaf Mom Shares Her World Lisa Gates at intrinsic life design Rammel Firdaus at rammelfirdaus.com Carol at Pentimento Adam Kayce at Monk at Work Thomas at Technical Blogger […]

  3. Rammel Firdaus Says:

    Hi Thomas,

    Looks like you have a happy family. Nice to know someone working at Microsoft. It must be cool working there. 😀

  4. Mihaela Lica Says:

    Those are really beautiful pictures you’ve got there. Thank you for sharing your special moments with us.

    Mig

  5. Dawud Miracle Says:

    Hey Thomas, great to meet you. You’ve got a beautiful family. Thanks for sharing them with us.

  6. remotecontrolceo Says:

    Thomas, isn’t it amazing how far this meme has reached? I think it confirms how important it is to put a face to our blogs. It also reminds me of the limitless opportunities in business and blogging.

    Anyone can succeed, just add effort, stir in some personality, and you get a unique mixture of entrepreneurial success.

    Nice blog! I look forward to getting to know you!

  7. Thomas Says:

    Time to catch up on comments –
    David @ Going to Cairo was a very cool experience. I did get sick and lose 20 lbs in 2 weeks, but it was still worth it. This picture was taken after we had ridden on Arabian horses to the dune we were on. We then got to race those horse through the desert – one thing I will always remember.
    Rammel – We are a happy family ‘most’ of the time. Our daughter is now 13 so things can be a little rocky sometimes. Overall we are very lucky, Nicole is a great kid, and Shannon is a great partner. I love my job at Microsoft. I get to work with some very bright people. I work as a Technical Writer so my job is to ensure that our customer can actually understand what they are using.
    Mig – Thank you – I don’t normally participate in group projects, but I thought this one was very cool.
    Dawud – Thank you. I was reading your entry (I will leave a comment) and I appreciated the candor you shared about your religion and the great pictures of your family.
    RemoteControlCEO – Thanks for the complimetns on the blog. I have only been working on my blog for a little more than 2 weeks, but I feel I am making progress.
    I look forward to watching your blogs and learning more about you.
    Thomas – Technical Blogger @ ScissorMonkey

  8. Edward Mills Says:

    Thomas. You picked the perfect photos. It’s amazing how just a few images can clearly express who we are. Thanks for sharing!

  9. Behind The Words » Going The Wong Way Says:

    […] Kayce at Monk at Work Thomas at Technical Blogger Tammy Lenski at I Can’t Say […]

  10. This Eclectic Life » The Face Behind The Hands Says:

    […] Firdaus at rammelfirdaus.com Carol at Pentimento Adam Kayce at Monk at Work Thomas at Technical Blogger Tammy Lenski at I Can’t Say […]

  11. Thomas Says:

    Edward – thanks, the pictures I picked are a few of my favorites.
    Actually I have decided to tag someone. I tag a virtual friend Bluerose at Death Blog for Cutie, who also blogs at Death Blog for Cutie on Blogger&lt. She is an artist and I appreciate the photography on her ever changing blog.

  12.   Face Behind Blog Update #2 by rammel firdaus Says:

    […] Thomas at Technical Blogger Tammy Lenski at I Can’t Say That! Chris Brown at Branding & Marketing Rory Sullivan at Hamelife Derek Wong at Going The Wong Way […]

  13. “The Face Behind The Blog” Meme » Sha Money Maker dot com Says:

    […] Kayce at Monk at Work Thomas at Technical Blogger Tammy Lenski at I Can’t Say […]

  14. “The Face Behind The Blog” Meme : Dirty little secret, ways to make money online Says:

    […] Kayce at Monk at Work Thomas at Technical Blogger Tammy Lenski at I Can’t Say […]

  15. The Face Behind The Blog Meme : Dirty little secret, ways to make money online Says:

    […] Kayce at Monk at Work Thomas at Technical Blogger Tammy Lenski at I Can’t Say […]

  16. Face Behind the Blog - Meme | Blogging on Tech, Web 2.0 and Money Making Tips Says:

    […] Kayce at Monk at Work Thomas at Technical Blogger Tammy Lenski at I Can?t Say […]

  17. The face behind the blog : Roberta Ferguson Says:

    […] Adam Kayce at Monk at Work Thomas at Technical Blogger […]

  18. The Face Behind the Blog | Blog That Outside Says:

    […] Adam Kayce at Monk at Work Thomas at Technical Blogger […]

  19. The Face Behind The Blog. My Story at Bob Meets World Says:

    […] Adam Kayce at Monk at Work Thomas at Technical Blogger […]

  20. Roberta Ferguson touched me! | Foximus Internet Business Blog Says:

    […] life design Rammel Firdaus at rammelfirdaus.com Carol at Pentimento Adam Kayce at Monk at Work Thomas at Technical Blogger Tammy Lenski at I Can’t Say […]

  21. Artist by Nature Blog : Original Oil Paintings & Art by Leanne Wildermuth » The Face Behind The Blog Says:

    […] Kayce at Monk at Work Thomas at Technical Blogger Tammy Lenski at I Can’t Say […]

  22. I’ve Been Tagged and Bagged » Affiliate Program Says:

    […] Firdaus at rammelfirdaus.com Carol at Pentimento Adam Kayce at Monk at Work Thomas at Technical Blogger Tammy Lenski at I Can’t Say […]

  23. Life Is Risky » Blog Archive » Face Behind The Blog Says:

    […] Adam Kayce at Monk at Work Thomas at Technical Blogger […]

  24. Double Tagged Says:

    […] Thomas at Technical Blogger Tammy Lenski at I Can’t Say That! […]

  25. The face behind the blog. : Faddy | Girl Next Door Says:

    […] Kayce at Monk at Work Thomas at Technical Blogger Tammy Lenski at I Can’t Say That! Chris Brown at Branding & […]

  26. Finally, My Meme Tag Post Says:

    […] Thomas at Technical Blogger Tammy Lenski at I Can’t Say That! […]

  27. uncle sha Says:

    thanks for updating/adding me to the list 🙂

  28. The Face Behind BlissLogs | BlissLogs Says:

    […] Adam Kayce at Monk at Work Thomas at Technical Blogger […]

  29. Face Behind De'moments Says:

    […] life design Rammel Firdaus at rammelfirdaus.comCarol at Pentimento Adam Kayce at Monk at WorkThomas at Technical BloggerTammy Lenski at I Can?t Say That! Chris Brown at Branding & Marketing Rory Sullivan at […]

  30. IN NEDERLAND » Blog Archive » The Nose behind this blog Says:

    […] life design Rammel Firdaus at rammelfirdaus.comCarol at Pentimento Adam Kayce at Monk at WorkThomas at Technical BloggerTammy Lenski at I Can?t Say That! Chris Brown at Branding & Marketing Rory Sullivan at […]

  31. EmbraceEachSecond.com » Blog Archive » The “Face Behind The Blog” Says:

    […] life design Rammel Firdaus at rammelfirdaus.comCarol at Pentimento Adam Kayce at Monk at WorkThomas at Technical BloggerTammy Lenski at I Can?t Say That! Chris Brown at Branding & Marketing Rory Sullivan at […]

  32. Tag: The person behind the blog | Leah's Cafe Says:

    […] life design Rammel Firdaus at rammelfirdaus.com Carol at Pentimento Adam Kayce at Monk at Work Thomas at Technical Blogger Tammy Lenski at I Can?t Say That! Chris Brown at Branding & Marketing Rory Sullivan at Hamelife […]

  33. mylifestartsatfortytwo.com » Face Behind The Blog... Says:

    […] life designRammel Firdaus at rammelfirdaus.com Carol at PentimentoAdam Kayce at Monk at Work Thomas at Technical BloggerTammy Lenski at I Can?t Say That! Chris Brown at Branding & Marketing Rory Sullivan at […]

  34. .::hip & cool...i'll always be::. : hipncoolmomma.com Says:

    […] life design Rammel Firdaus at rammelfirdaus.comCarol at Pentimento Adam Kayce at Monk at WorkThomas at Technical BloggerTammy Lenski at I Can?t Say That! Chris Brown at Branding & Marketing Rory Sullivan at […]

  35. The Face Behind the Blog · 1Day@ATime… Says:

    […] life design Rammel Firdaus at rammelfirdaus.comCarol at Pentimento Adam Kayce at Monk at WorkThomas at Technical BloggerTammy Lenski at I Can?t Say That! Chris Brown at Branding & Marketing Rory Sullivan at […]

  36. David Airey :: Graphic Designer » The Face Behind The Blog update #2 Says:

    […] Kayce at Monk at Work Thomas at Technical Blogger Tammy Lenski at I Can’t Say That! Chris Brown at Branding & Marketing Rory Sullivan at […]

  37. I Set No Corner » Blog Archive » The iRonnie Behind The Blog Says:

    […] life design Rammel Firdaus at rammelfirdaus.comCarol at Pentimento Adam Kayce at Monk at WorkThomas at Technical BloggerTammy Lenski at I Can?t Say That! Chris Brown at Branding & Marketing Rory Sullivan at […]

  38. The face behind the blog: Facibus Reviews at Facibus On Blogging Says:

    […] Firdaus at rammelfirdaus.com Carol at Pentimento Adam Kayce at Monk at Work Thomas at Technical Blogger Tammy Lenski at I Can’t Say […]

  39. Andrew’s Autoblog Experiment » Blog Archive » The face behind the blog: Facibus Reviews Says:

    […] Firdaus at rammelfirdaus.com Carol at Pentimento Adam Kayce at Monk at Work Thomas at Technical Blogger Tammy Lenski at I Can’t Say […]

  40. IN NEDERLAND » Blog Archive » The face behind the Blog (correction) Says:

    […] at Pentimento Adam Kayce at Monk at Work Thomas at Technical Blogger Tammy Lenski at I Can’t Say […]

  41. Irrelevant cheetah » Blog Archive » The man behind the curtain Says:

    […] life design Rammel Firdaus at rammelfirdaus.com Carol at Pentimento Adam Kayce at Monk at Work Thomas at Technical Blogger Tammy Lenski at I Can?t Say That! Chris Brown at Branding & Marketing Rory Sullivan at Hamelife […]

  42. troy worman » The Face Behind The Blog Collection Says:

    […] Firdaus at rammelfirdaus.com Carol at Pentimento Adam Kayce at Monk at Work Thomas at Technical Blogger Tammy Lenski at I Can’t Say […]

  43. moderately-confused pinay in deutschland - the face behind the blog Says:

    […] life design Rammel Firdaus at rammelfirdaus.com Carol at Pentimento Adam Kayce at Monk at Work Thomas at Technical Blogger Tammy Lenski at I Can�t Say That! Chris Brown at Branding & Marketing Rory Sullivan at […]

  44. Wanderlust Sha » the wanderlust behind this blog Says:

    […] at Pentimento Adam Kayce at Monk at Work Thomas at Technical Blogger Tammy Lenski at I Can’t Say […]

  45. Hello, is it me you’re looking for? « K, speaking! Says:

    […] Lisa Gates at intrinsic life design | Rammel Firdaus at rammelfirdaus.com | Carol at Pentimento | Adam Kayce at Monk at Work | Thomas at Technical Blogger […]

  46. The Tammy Behind the Blog | Tammy Lenski Says:

    […] life design Rammel Firdaus at rammelfirdaus.com Carol at Pentimento Adam Kayce at Monk at Work Thomas at Technical Blogger Chris Brown at Branding & […]

  47. All is One, One is All… » Blog Archive » Face Off Says:

    […] life design|Rammel Firdaus at rammelfirdaus.com|Carol at Pentimento|Adam Kayce at Monk at Work|Thomas at Technical Blogger|Tammy Lenski at I Can?t Say That!|Chris Brown at Branding & Marketing|Rory Sullivan at […]

  48. 2.0 Silent Whisper » Blog Archive » A seriously vomit-ty post. Says:

    […] life design Rammel Firdaus at rammelfirdaus.comCarol at Pentimento Adam Kayce at Monk at WorkThomas at Technical BloggerTammy Lenski at I Can?t Say That! Chris Brown at Branding & Marketing Rory Sullivan at […]

  49. 2.0 Silent Whisper » Blog Archive » A seriously vomit-ty post. Says:

    […] life design Rammel Firdaus at rammelfirdaus.comCarol at Pentimento Adam Kayce at Monk at WorkThomas at Technical BloggerTammy Lenski at I Can?t Say That! Chris Brown at Branding & Marketing Rory Sullivan at […]

  50. babyrambutan » The Face behind the blog Says:

    […] at Pentimento Adam Kayce at Monk at Work Thomas at Technical Blogger Tammy Lenski at I Can’t Say […]

  51. Dagboek (dutch) means Diary....My writings during stolen moments » Blog Archive » The Nose behind the blog Says:

    […] at Pentimento Adam Kayce at Monk at Work Thomas at Technical Blogger Tammy Lenski at I Can’t Say […]

  52. Ugly Mailbox.com Says:

    […] life design Rammel Firdaus at rammelfirdaus.comCarol at Pentimento Adam Kayce at Monk at WorkThomas at Technical BloggerTammy Lenski at I Can?t Say That! Chris Brown at Branding & Marketing Rory Sullivan at […]

  53. This is me! Says:

    […] life design Rammel Firdaus at rammelfirdaus.comCarol at Pentimento Adam Kayce at Monk at WorkThomas at Technical BloggerTammy Lenski at I Can?t Say That! Chris Brown at Branding & Marketing Rory Sullivan at […]

  54. Dani Says:

    Hi! I posted Face behind the Blog to follow your meme.. do visit my blog and give comment, thanks

    Lonely hurts

  55. Thomas Says:

    Dani – Thanks for joining The Face Behind the Blog. I have met some great people through this, including the creator of the meme, David Airey.
    I can’t believe this meme is still going almost 3 months later.

  56. captain lifecruiser Says:

    Very nice with the family with you on the photos too 🙂

    Thanks for the pingback, you’re added to my Face-behind-the blog post now to.

  57. RennyBA Says:

    Good to meet the face behind this blog too – and documented with some great pictures!

    Thanks for the pingback Thomas, I’ve updated my post too 😀

  58. The Face Behind This Blog Says:

    […] Today I found that Thomas – technical blogger, have an updated list of The Face Behind The Blog Collection. Its interesting to see how long and far this meme has […]

  59. trinityprovidentia Says:

    Hi, I also have done this meme and include your link in my post.
    I would appreciate it if you would return the favor.

    Here is the url http://www.ruangsudut.info/2007/06/faces-behind-my-blog.html

    Thank you.

    Have a great week ahead. =)
    Keep in touch..

  60. The Face behind the Crown! The Crown that won't fit the face! Says:

    […] design | Rammel Firdaus at rammelfirdaus.com | Carol at Pentimento | Adam Kayce at Monk at Work | Thomas at Technical Blogger | Tammy Lenski at I Can?t Say That! | Chris Brown at Branding & Marketing | Rory Sullivan at […]

  61. K.noizki » Hello, is it me you’re looking for? Says:

    […] Lisa Gates at intrinsic life design | Rammel Firdaus at rammelfirdaus.com | Carol at Pentimento | Adam Kayce at Monk at Work | Thomas at Technical Blogger […]

  62. Sarcasm Aside » Archivio Blog » golB eht dniheB ecaF Says:

    […] life design Rammel Firdaus at rammelfirdaus.com Carol at Pentimento Adam Kayce at Monk at Work Thomas at Technical Blogger Tammy Lenski at I Can’t Say That! Chris Brown at Branding & Marketing Rory Sullivan at […]

  63. OrbitNow! » The Face Behind the Blog Says:

    […] Lisa Gates at intrinsic life design Rammel Firdaus at rammelfirdaus.com Carol at Pentimento Adam Kayce at Monk at Work Thomas at Technical Blogger […]

  64. The iRonnie Behind The Blog -- I Set No Corner Says:

    […] design | Rammel Firdaus at rammelfirdaus.com | Carol at Pentimento | Adam Kayce at Monk at Work | Thomas at Technical Blogger | Tammy Lenski at I Can?t Say That! | Chris Brown at Branding & Marketing | Rory Sullivan at […]

  65. meme Says:

    […] Kayce at Monk at Work Thomas at Technical Blogger Tammy Lenski at I Can?t Say […]

  66. The Tammy Behind the Blog | Conflict Zen Says:

    […] life design Rammel Firdaus at rammelfirdaus.com Carol at Pentimento Adam Kayce at Monk at Work Thomas at Technical Blogger Chris Brown at Branding & […]

  67. Mario Says:

    Nice pyramid picture, I wish I could go there someday.

  68. Behind The Words | Going The Wong Way Says:

    […] Kayce at Monk at Work Thomas at Technical Blogger Tammy Lenski at I Can’t Say […]

  69. A Lil' History - The Face Behind The Blog - Leanne Wildermuth : Artist by Nature Says:

    […] Rammel Firdaus at rammelfirdaus.com Carol at Pentimento Adam Kayce at Monk at Work Thomas at Technical Blogger […]


Leave a Reply

