Seagate FreeAgent Pro 500

SeagateFreeAgentPro-500I have been thinking for a while that I wanted to upgrade the storage for my system. I remember seeing an interview on Scoble Show about the Seagate FreeAgent set of external drives. I watched the interview again and decided I would go with Seagate and purchase a FreeAgent Pro 500 GB external drive.

What a great purchase. Power Up, Hook Up and Go!

The drive installed a copy of utilities on my system for creating backups and such, and was up and running. I copied about 75 GB of music, videos and assorted documents in about 1.5 hours.

The drive even has a nice set of Amber lights, that give the corner of the office a nice glow.

I wish all programs and hardware were as easy to install and use.

Good Sponsor Robert!

3 Responses to “Seagate FreeAgent Pro 500”

  1. Thomas - Technical Blogger Hard Drive Capacities - Manufacturer Versus Operating System Reports « Says:

    […] June 25th, 2007 — Thomas I have received a couple of questions about the Seagate FreeAgent Pro 500 GB drive that I recently purchased. One question that I have received multiple times concerns the manufacturer stated capacity versus the capacity reported by the operating system.[…]

  2. Thomas - Technical Blogger Previous Fan Failure on my Dell Precision 450 « Says:

    […] External Hard Drive – Seagate FreeAgent Pro 500 […]

  3. platypusrex256 Says:

    i have been having problems with the seagate drive. overheating. i am currently trying to work things out but i lost a lot of valuable data.

    i am an independent film maker and i lost my first documentary film. so i’m a bit hurt to say the least. i thought i was buying a top of the line product but ended up with something that was “just a little better” than western digital. that’s like settling for second to last place!

    seagate continues to remain as the best hard drive manufacture but i would not trust their external drives until they make a serious overhaul of the design.


Leave a Reply

