nVidia GeForce 7600 GS it just Works

nVidiaGeForce7600-1 After the fiasco trying to use the ATI Radeon X1650 Pro, I decided to take it back. I found people having problems with the card on numerous Dell machines, so I figured it wasn’t worth the hassle.

When I returned the ATI card, the store mentioned that quite a few people had trouble and were returning the card – doesn’t ATI think that needs to be addressed – their cards aren’t working?

I switched to the nVidia GeForce 7600 GS and it works great. Easy to install, it even came with a splitter as the card is powered. The ATI card didn’t. If the card has special requirements, the manufacturer should take them into consideration and ensure the customer is ready. Why should I have to go back to the store because the manufacturer couldn’t be bothered to include all the equipment I needed – especially something as simple as a internal power splitter.

Well I am quite happy with the new card, and my Dell appears to be quite happy too.

Technorati tags: , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “nVidia GeForce 7600 GS it just Works”

  1. Thomas - Technical Blogger Vista Successfully Installed « Says:

    […] June 17th, 2007 — Thomas  I upgraded my video card to a nVidia GeForce 7600 GS, and added storage with a Seagate FreeAgent Pro 500 GB drive on my system – Dell […]

  2. James Says:

    I loathe ATI with a passion. I’ve encountered nothing but problems when dealing with ATI cards and their drivers and simply refuse to offer it as a graphics solution when building systems (unless the client specifically requests it, which hasn’t happened).

    Nvidia all the way for me!

  3. Thomas Says:

    James – After I installed the ATI card and had all the problems, I looked on the forums, and it looks like a lot of people agree with you. I wish I had known this up front, it would have saved me some grief.

    The odd thing is – the card was a recommended upgrade on the Dell site for my system. I’m with you – Nvidia is working great on my system – I am very happy with it.

  4. Joe Says:

    I never had problems with my ATI card, and my x800 did come with the splitter cable.
    Then again, depends a lot on the manufacturer. Don’t blame ATI, blame powercolor or whatever.
    If you buy from MSI/Asus or other good brands you’ll get what you pay for!

  5. Thomas Says:

    Joe – I did not have any problems with my old ATI card, it worked great.

    I was unable to get the ATI Radeon X1650 working on my system. When I returned the card and someone at the store said a lot of people have troubles with this card, and I noticed quite a few people on the Dell forum having similar problems with this card.


Leave a Reply

