Vista Successfully Installed

 I upgraded my video card to a nVidia GeForce 7600 GS, and added storage with a Seagate FreeAgent Pro 500 GB drive on my system – Dell Precision 450, dual processor Xeon running at 2.0 GHz. I am very pleased with both of these new devices, they have been a great addition to my system. I currently only have 1 GB of RAM which I will upgrade in the next couple of weeks.

Now that my hardware is upgraded, I installed Microsoft Vista. It installed pretty cleanly. The initial drive configuration when I was running Windows XP:

  • Drive C (Primary) – 20 GB drive – Windows XP Installed
  • Drive D (Dynamic) – 200 GB drive – Data Drive

For the installation, I migrated my data from the 200 GB drive to the New 500 GB FreeAgent drive and that all happened very smoothly. I then swapped my drives and made drive D my primary drive, and drive C my secondary drive. Drive C did not meet the installation requirements for Vista.

I started the Vista installation program, and it was unable to delete the Dynamic partition on Drive D, and I was unable to install on the Dynamic partition. I was stuck. In the end, I used the Windows XP installation program, deleted the partition using the XP install, and then went back to the Vista install. This seems wrong to me. Why can I perform actions in the XP install that I am unable to in the Vista install?

I reviewed the online knowledge base and was unable to locate a solution to my problem. I was fortunate that I had the old XP installation CD around to work with to delete the partition.

VistaDesktop

Other than the problem with the Dynamic Partition, which I would rate as more than a minor, but less than a major issue, the installation was flawless. I am now running Vista on my system and all appears to be working very well. I still need to install Office but that can wait.

Overall I am pleased with the final results of the installation.

One Response to “Vista Successfully Installed”

  1. Commercial Roofing Says:

    Some controversy and concerns have arisen over how the increase in hardware specifications required to take advantage of many of Vista’s new features may have an impact on both personal and business users.[63][64] While most Desktop PCs purchased after 2002 and laptops purchased after 2005 will be able to meet Vista’s minimum “Windows Vista Capable” requirements, many laptops and low-end to midrange desktops with integrated graphics will not be able to meet “Windows Vista Premium Ready” requirements and will therefore not be able to run advanced features such as the Aero Glass interface.


Leave a Reply

