Upgrading Your Blog Design

Robert Scoble mentioned that it is time to redesign his blog. In my comments, I mentioned that a blog design I really like is David Airey’s site – he is a graphic designer in Scottland. Good use of graphics and logo, and I like the column layout.

As I have mentioned before I initially wanted to focus on the content on my site, to ensure there was something worth reading. I did not want to put the proverbial lipstick on a pig, and have a pretty site with no content. At this point I think my site is decent but not great.

Likes:

  • Overall Layout
  • 3 Column format
  • Color Scheme

Dislikes:

  • Layout of content in left and right hand columns
  • No custom graphics
  • Need to associate the URL ScissorMonkey into the blog more
  • Easier site navigation
  • Easier to subscribe to site

Site design is something that is continually in the back of my head.  I have worked for over a month, and I think I know have some good solid content on my blog. I guess the issue is, when do you have enough solid content to then focus on site design?

Phil Haack leveraged a new designer and struck a deal – redesign my blog, and I will showcase your work. To get his blog redesign done.

I am not sure how I am going to approach this yet, but creating a more friendly easier access design is definitely on my mind.

Leave a Reply

