iPhone is Not for Everyone

image The Secret Diary of Steve Jobs, a great read by the way, posted that Tom Yager was to return his iPhone. Tom Yager wrote a review for the iPhone on InfoWorld for the rest of us who want the best technology we can buy for our money, not necessarily the newest.

In iPhone: The $1,975 iPod, Tom’s post starts off with

After nine days doing nothing but living, breathing, and dissecting a 4GB iPhone, I am captivated by it. I’d challenge any gadget hound to find a more satisfying, status-elevating way to blow half a grand.

He also writes that the iPhone is not yet ready for the business user and that there are better options out there.

The unhappy fact is that for all the glamorous marketing and positioning, iPhone turns out to be the worst $1,975 investment (iPhone plus two years minimum, mandatory service) you could make in mobile communications. If you put that kind of money into a BlackBerry, Treo, Windows Mobile, or Symbian device, you will be blown away by what a genuine professional mobile handset can do for you, out of the box, through incremental improvement by the manufacturer and wireless operator, and extension by downloadable third-party software.

It is definitely worth reading Tom’s entire review.

I agree with Tom that all the media attention on the iPhone has really promoted all the functionality the phones in this market. Apple excel at not only creating a product, but creating a customer experience. Building technology that is greater then the sum of its parts, the technology becomes part of a larger customer experience – This is the brand that Apple has built.

Not everyone wants to be defined by their phone or the technology they have, they want it to be an invisible tool that they use to get things done.

I think this is a good review, and really helps people to understand what the features they will and won’t get with the iPhone. After knowing all the facts if the iPhone is still what you want to purchase, then you are at least going into the purchase with your eyes open.

5 Responses to “iPhone is Not for Everyone”

  1. iPhone is Not for Everyone Says:

    […] Visit Source No Comments, Comment or Ping […]

  2. University Update - Steve Jobs - iPhone is Not for Everyone Says:

    […] Link to Article steve jobs iPhone is Not for Everyone » Posted at Thomas – Technical Blogger […]

  3. Opal: Vegan Momma Says:

    I like the iPhone, but I’m definitely not ready for it since the provider is AT&T. I ranted about the problems my father experienced with their service. I visit the family twice yearly in South Carolina my father, and other relatives who used AT&T were all constantly dropped off the network. They main place we frequent while in South Carolina wasn’t accessible with AT&T. I’m a Verizon user and I never had a problem.

    I did hear that Apple originally approached Verizon, but they couldn’t reach a suitable relationship. I’m not sure how true that is I haven’t had time to check it out, but I will.

    I was in the Apple store, in my area, the day after they hit the stores. They looked nice. I’m off to read the article.

  4. Thomas Says:

    Opal – different carriers definitely have different areas of coverage. I have AT&T and my wife has TMobile. Here on the West Coast, 80% of the time I have service when she does not, every once in a while I won’t have service, and Shannon’s phone will be fine.

    I have heard that an agreement with Verizon fell through also. My understanding is that AT&T has a long term locked in contract.

    Nicole and I played with an iPhone the other day, and I will admit it was very cool. It is definitely an experience, and worth checking out. But I use my phone too much for my email, and I am just not willing to lay out $500 – $600 for a phone type device, I just can’t justify that kind of cost for a phone.

    When you get a chance to play with it, let me know what you think.

  5. Thomas - Technical Blogger $600 for An iPhone or a PS3? « Says:

    […] I have mentioned before customer experience is something Apple excels at, Apple sells more than the technology, […]


Leave a Reply

