Building Technorati Authority and Rank

Technorati-Header

In my previous post, Blogging The First 54 Days, I mentioned that I was able to achieve a Technorati Authority of 64 in a little over 50 days. I have received some emails asking how I did this, and how does Technorati work. Technorati works using two ranking systems

Technorati-Information

  • Authority – Number of unique incoming links to your blog.
  • Rank – How far your authority is from the number 1 position on Technorati. The higher authority you have, the closer to number 1 you will be.

The FAQ for Technorati explaining authority and rank.

Currently the number 1 blog is Engadget, with an Authority of 30,326, my current rank of 64 has me a ways out from 1st position.

Technorati-InformationEngadget

Initially you start with no links to your blog so you have a Rank of something like 3,570,000. For each unique link your blog receives, your Authority increases by one, and that Authority will be compared to all the others on Technorati to give you a Rank. Each unique link adds one to your Authority for 180 days.

Example – A blog links to you for the first time. This increases your Authority by 1, for 180 days. If the same blog links to you again, the 180 days will be extended another 180 days, you will not receive an increase in authority. One blog can link to you in every post, but will only increase your authority by 1, but will extend the length of time with that +1 Authority.

Here is my Technorati page:

  • Information Area – Gives you Authority, Rank and Fans
  • Authors – The authors that post on this blog
  • Latest Posts – List of the last few posts
  • Blog Reactions – Blogs that have linked to you 

Technorati-Page

Technorati Tags

As you create posts, associate Technorati tags with the post to make them searchable on those topics on Technorati.com. Add code similar to the following to create tags associated with Technorati, Blogging, Authority and Rank

[Technorati Tags:

<a href=”http://technorati.com/tags/Technorati” rel=”tag”>Technorati</a>,

<a href=”http://technorati.com/tags/Blogging” rel=”tag”>Blogging</a>,

<a href=”http://technorati.com/tags/Authority” rel=”tag”>Authority</a>,

<a href=”http://technorati.com/tags/Rank” rel=”tag”>Rank</a>]

The lines breaks are for readability only. If you have a program such as Windows Live Writer, you can use Insert Tags, type the words you want to tag, and Windows Live Writer will add the tags for you, yes score another one for Windows Live Writer.

Technorati-TagsWLW

Achieving Authority

I achieved my current Authority using the following methods.

  • I started writing a lot of content. I tried to ensure a couple high quality posts a day to build a good solid batch of content. After 54 days I have over 125 posts.
  • I use Technorati to search for blogs writing about the same content I am, then I comment on those blogs. If I had a post that was pertinent I would add a link in my comment to the post. If I created a future post I would link back to this original article, giving them credit for the idea of my post.
  • I did not worry about Technorati Authority as a gauge for who to comment on. A blog you may be commenting on, or linking to now may only have an authority of 1, but who knows where that blog will be a month or six months from now. If you have built a relationship with that person before, they will be willing to link to you.
  • If an article gave me an idea for a post, I would link back to the original article. If an article links to another article and that gives you an idea, mention both. As I said in my earlier post I am not big on vias, but they work for some people.
    Example – I saw <blog title> on <blog owner> [via]. The via includes a link to the blog that you found the first article.
    I like to give as much credit as possible. The more good links you give, giving credit to others, the more willing they are to link to you.
  • Don’t expect A List bloggers to immediately drop everything and start linking to you. Build a relationship with them by commenting on their blogs. Remember there is a fine line between being persistent and being a stalker.
  • I am generous with my links, on pertinent topics, initially don’t expect any links in return. Try to write quality content and add links that add value to your topic. If you create posts and add links randomly, others will not accept these links and they will not show up on others blogs.
  • I joined one good meme, The Face Behind the Blog, that I thought was interesting. You could go crazy and join a bunch of link exchanges, but people can see where you are getting your Authority from, if it is random and without order, people will discount your Authority. The incoming links you have, need to be appropriate to have value.
  • I add Technorati tags to my posts to ensure they are searchable. Ensure your tags are pertinent. One of the most overused tags I have run into is Google. Mentioning Google in a sentence does not make that a topic in your posts – that is not a valid tag, knock it off. If I see that you are adding inappropriate tags to your blog post, I will most likely not visit your blog again.

Summary

I find Technorati Authority and Rank makes sense to me. One frustrating issue, is if your Authority stays static, your Rank will actually decrease as other blogs are gaining in their Authority and Rank. So if you are standing still, you are actually falling behind. Periodically you get surprised and will come back to notice your Authority has increased by 2 or 3.

Adding tags allows others to search for your content as they are looking for information. If someone finds your content useful, they could comment on your blog adding to the conversation, or link to you in their blog post increasing your Authority. Another issue to keep in mind, is that Google rates pages based on quality of incoming links. The better quality and the more incoming links you have, the higher the page ranking will be. Performing well on Technorati can help your Google page ranks also.

Eric Cartman as a CopSo that in a nutshell is how Authority and Rank works, and how you use Technorati Tags to allow your content to be searchable. Go forth and start increasing your Authori-tay!

65 Responses to “Building Technorati Authority and Rank”

  1. Taking The Lid Off Technorati: How Does Technorati Work? | Vegan Momma Says:

    […] has written an excellent post titled Building Technorati Authority and Rank. It’s extremely informative, and I encourage you all to stop by his virtual spot and read it. […]

  2. meeyauw Says:

    the tags still confuse me. Do they have to be in a specific place? If I place code in my template then each post has those tags? Or does the code not go in the template?

    Is there an advantage to having those specific codes you mention in every post?

  3. Thomas Says:

    Meeyauw – Good questions, let me see if I can clarify tags for you.

    I notice you use labels for your posts. Tags are just like labels. Labels allow you to associate topics to your posts for use on your blog. Tags allow you to associate topics to be used on Technorati.

    Tags will need to be associated with each individual post, not your template. The idea is to add each new post to Technorati, allowing others to find these posts. When you create an account you will need to ‘Claim Your Blog’ to initially get your blog to be included on Technorati.

    Normally I just add the tags at the end of the post to ensure they don’t block readability, but I guess you could add them anywhere to your post.

    The advantage to having these codes in your post, is that others on Technorati will be able to search using these tags and easily find your posts. Once you get your routine of adding this content at the end of your post, Technorati will be one more way for readers to find your content.

    Note the tags I have on my post above, if you were to search using the tags, “increasing authority rank,” this post would be included in the search results.

    One additional item – you should configure an automatic ping to Technorati. This will ensure each post you add is quickly added to Technorati. It is a simple process if you are using Windows Live Writer.

    Also for a quick search without the Technorati interface you can go to http://s.technorati.com/. This will alllow you to add additional options, such as searching for posts that have a higher level of authority.

    I hope this answered all your questions.

  4. Daisy the Curly Cat Says:

    Great article, Thomas!

  5. Opal: Vegan Momma Says:

    Hey Thomas,

    I stumbled your article, but I completely forgot to Digg it. I’ll do that tomorrow morning.

  6. Thomas Says:

    Daisy – Thanks I am glad to hear that my content is actually helping people!

    Opal – I haven’t played much with Stumbleupon, and I have only played with Digg a little. I need to learn to use these tools better.

  7. Stop Shooting Viral Marketing Blanks, Stupid. | Online Marketing with Jacob Wolfsheimer - WolfTrust.com Says:

    […] Post is tagged with appropriate words for Technorati. Your blog can be found, but take some extra steps to have your blog post tagged for the right […]

  8. Meg Says:

    Hi Thomas – I came here via the comments in Life in the Country. Snos is right, you’ve written a great explanatory post on the workings of Technorati, which obviously you’ve put a lot of effort into.

    Now I’ve got to read what you’ve written about Facebook :).

  9. Thomas Says:

    Jacob – You really have a handle on writing catchy titles for your post. I really need to work on that.

    Meg – Always nice to have new readers, and thanks for mentioning how you got here, it is always nice to know where people are coming from. I notice you have some solid walkthroughs yourself. I look forward to reading what you have written about StumbleUpon, I haven’t had time to work with that program at all.

  10. Max Says:

    Hi everyone,

    You all know..that..

    I am invited to participate in the biggest joint venture campaign in the self-improvement industry that could possibly add 5K to 10K (or more) subscribers to my lists within a few short days. Receive up to 50% affiliate commissions for every referral who buys 117 Self Improvement Gifts product lines from our one-time offer special. I am sure this works because I have seen many GURU marketers use this technique to build their lists to astronomical sizes.

  11. meeyauw Says:

    OK I finally figured this all out in my weird way. But I also found a neat place that does the coding for you and you just cut and paste the HTML:

    http://www.marketwest.co.uk/tools/index.php

    Thank you again for bringing all this to my attention.

  12. Thomas Says:

    meeyauw – thanks for the great link. If you use a post writer such as Windows Live Writer, there are tools in the program itself that will create these tags for you.

    All you have to do put the cursor where you want the line to go, typically at the bottom of your post, and then open the Technorati option. Just type whatever words you want in the text box, and the tool will add all the appropriate code to your post. Also WLW is free, but at this time it only works on Windows.

  13. Magnus Says:

    I am just getting started and trying to increase my authority for http://www.secondlifeupdate.com

  14. GIR Says:

    Hi, there’s another great article about increasing Technorati authority here: http://thedogr.blogspot.com/2007/08/blog-challenge-increase-your-technorati_04.html

  15. Thomas Says:

    GIR – Link lists are definitely one method you can use to increase your authority on Technorati. If you are just trying to get a number that is all well and good, but if you are actually trying to increase your authority in a given area of expertise, this might not be the best method. It is all up to the goal of the individual.

  16. Izabael DaJinn Says:

    Nice blog. Did writing it help your Authority a little bit too? 🙂

  17. Thomas Says:

    Izabael – Welcome and thanks for the compliment and for the comment. I will admit that this post did give me a bit of a boost. Honestly though, I find I get more links to my technical or community building type posts.

    Hopefully I am doing something right, since writing this post, I have been fortunate enough that I have have almost tripled my Rank, and my Authority is 1/4th.

  18. animesh Says:

    I think it is useful for blogger. but I could not understand about this paragrapy below.

    Example – A blog links to you for the first time. This increases your Authority by 1, for 180 days. If the same blog links to you again, the 180 days will be extended another 180 days, you will not receive an increase in authority. One blog can link to you in every post, but will only increase your authority by 1, but will extend the length of time with that +1 Authority.

    http://dhaka-pic.blogspot.com

  19. Thomas Says:

    animesh – Each blog that links to you will only increase your authority by 1 for a period of 180 days. If the same blog links to you again, your Authority will not increase, but the period of time will be extended.

    I hope this clarifies. Feel free to let me know if you still have questions.

  20. zahidyne Says:

    Thank you so very much for this article. I’ve been scouring all over the web to get a concise understanding and Technorati authority function and ranking. In this article, I’ve found my peace.

  21. Jeff Says:

    Hello. Great article. So, is adding labels doing the same thing as putting the technorati tags at the end of the post? Thanks for this valuable information!

    http://www.bransonlead.com

  22. Aleks Says:

    Thanks for the interesting and cognitive information!

  23. Madhu Says:

    Thomas! What an article. I have been looking for thorough information on technorati authority and here it is.

    You mean you use technorati search rather than google search to search for your blog topic or blog content similar type blogs. I am not able to understand by doing technorati search how i will gain my technorati authority and rank.
    Thomas, please explain.

  24. Maddy Says:

    Its Great Article..

    Thanks 🙂

  25. Elizabeth Crane Says:

    Thanks for the info…and the comments are helpful too. I’ve had some of my blogs for two years now and really need to start working harder and getting more viewers. Thanks!

  26. Thomas Dowson Says:

    An interesting post. It ranks highly on search engines, which is how I found it. Has the system changed since you wrote the post? I have a blog that is only a month old, and only a few days on Technorati and I went from an initial Authority of 1, on the first day to 118 on day 3. I was wondering how I could improve on that! If I did anything right, it was by default not design 😉

  27. Dale Berkebile Says:

    Thomas, thanks for sharing all these great tips. I look forward to trying to apply these tips to the Brandwise blog to see how quickly we can raise our rank and authority with Technorati.

  28. Lucas Shaffer Says:

    Great Stuff! Almost three years old and the technorati algorithm has changed a bit but the points remail valid! Thanks for the content!

  29. hb Says:

    this is a great article…i recently started blogging… and i found technorati a couple of days back..i signed up and then got baffeled about how i should use it… now you have helped me a lot…
    but i have a question… when you include links… in your website…to other blogs… (in which case i share your morals… as i place many external links) technorati automatically detects the links? does that add to your authority in any way? also. how do u comment on other blogs..as in right now im commenting on ur blog…not on technorati..how does technorati know im commenting here… and if you decide to give a link to my blog..how will technorati know you did that?
    another question just came to mind…what about technorati widgets… how do they help?
    please answer when you get time…
    thanks a lot…
    my site is http://hbtechguru.blogspot.com/

    btw…have you written nething about stubleupon? i intend to use that first…

  30. John Says:

    Thanks for posting this – it’s one of the first links that came up when I googled “How does Technorati work?” and probably the most helpful. I’ve got my blog accepted into technorati, but now I guess I have to build my authority. This is a great help!

    Has hb mentioned, can you shed some light on how stumbleupon works?

  31. Anchit Pandey Says:

    Heya Thomas,

    I am not sure why having 64 authority in first 54 days sounds a big deal. No offense but actually I have also started my website few days back i.e. http://www.electronicgurudev.in and my authority was technorati authority was 114.

    Regards,
    Anchit Pandey

  32. Anchit Pandey Says:

    Heya Thomas,

    I am not sure why having 64 authority in first 54 days sounds a big deal. No offense but actually I have also started my website few days back i.e. http://www.electronicgurudev.in and my technorati authority was 114.

    Regards,
    Anchit Pandey

  33. Joe Says:

    Hi Thomas,

    Nice post. I started a new blog and am trying to get some people to check it out and thought technocrati was a good way to get the word out. I have a question about tags. I use wordpress and include tags in each of my posts. Will Technocrati pick up these tags, or are Technocrati tags different then the tags I am already putting on my posts? Thanks

  34. mummyconstant Says:

    Great blog post – its been driving me crazy why I have auth 1 in family… I am guessing that I haven’t put the content in, tags or links!

    my blog is http://www.mummyconstant.com – can I refer to this blog post?

  35. Arthelo Says:

    Hi Thomas, just come across this blog of yours and I find it helpful to connect with you concerning on how I could improve my authority and rank. Please do help me more on this, in a simple way as possible for a novice like me. I appreciate your time for this and look forward to your positive response! My blog is http://avitalidea.blogspot.com. Thank you!

  36. seo Says:

    I visited many web pages except the audio quality for audio songs existing
    at this web page is truly wonderful.

  37. itsupportconcepts14969.soup.io Says:

    Hi there this is somewhat of off topic but I
    was wondering if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually code with HTML.
    I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding experience so I wanted
    to get guidance from someone with experience. Any help would be enormously appreciated!

  38. wordpress.com Says:

    A motivating discussion is worth comment. There’s no doubt that that you need to write more about this subject
    matter, it may not be a taboo subject but usually folks don’t speak about these subjects.
    To the next! Kind regards!!

  39. Corky Says:

    This was rrally helpful Thomas. I know you wrote it ago ago now but i’d love to improve my celeb news and Hollywood gossip authority. I understand it better now 😀

  40. http://www.freshwaterplumbingmelbourne.com/gas-appliance-repairs-and-replacement-melbourne Says:

    I leave a leave a response whenever I appreciate a article on a
    site or if I have something to valuable to contribute to the conversation.
    Usually it’s caused by the sincerness communicated in the article I looked at.

    And on this post Building Technorati Authority and Rank | Thomas – Technical Blogger.
    I was moved enough to drop a comment 😛 I do have 2 questions for you if it’s okay.
    Is it only me or does it give the impression like some of the remarks come across like they are written
    by brain dead people? 😛 And, if you are writing at other sites,
    I would like to follow you. Would you make a list the complete urls of
    all your social sites like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

  41. Rudolf Says:

    I was excited to uncover this web site. I want to to thank you for ones time due to this fantastic read!!
    I definitely loved every bit of it and I have you bookmarked to see new stuff on your website.

  42. Hattie Says:

    Nice post. I learn something new and challenging on websites I stumbleupon everyday.
    It’s always useful to read articles from other authors and use something from their web sites.

  43. hearpeers.com Says:

    Hi there! I just wish to offer you a big thumbs up for the excellent info you have
    right here on this post. I am returning to your blog for more soon.

  44. http://kostka-brukowa.org.pl/ Says:

    I’m no longer certain the place you’re getting your information, but great topic.
    I must spend a while learning much more or
    understanding more. Thank you for great information I used to be searching for this information for my mission.

  45. وب سایت Says:

    Does your website have a contact page? I’m having trouble
    locating it but, I’d like to shoot you an e-mail.

    I’ve got some ideas for your blog you might be interested in hearing.

    Either way, great blog and I look forward to seeing
    it improve over time.

  46. John Sherman Says:

    Thanks a bunch for sharing this with all people you actually recognize what you are talking about!
    Bookmarked. Kindly also discuss with my website.
    appliance authorized repair

  47. citifinancial services Says:

    It’s not my first time to go to see this website, i am browsing this site dailly and obtain fastidious facts from
    here all the time.

  48. citifinancial services Says:

    It is really a great and useful piece of info.
    I am satisfied that you simply shared this useful info with us.

    Please keep us up to date like this. Thank you for sharing.

  49. Arcane Legends Cheats Says:

    I’m not sure where you’re getting your info, but good
    topic. I needs to spend some time learning much more
    or understanding more. Thanks for excellent information I was looking for this info
    for my mission.

  50. fifa15coingenerators.Wordpress.com Says:

    Hi there! Would you mind if I share your blog
    with my myspace group? There’s a lot of people that I think would really enjoy your
    content. Please let me know. Thanks

  51. hack boom beach cydia sources Says:

    Gli angeli sono stati sede a Angel Stadium di Anaheim dal 1966 .

    La squadra , ancora una volta , ha vinto il titolo di divisione nel
    1997 , ma è stato sconfitto nelle ALDS per Baltimore Orioles .
    sembra che i pirati si alterneranno legno e Cedeno a interbase per vedere cosa ha legno .

  52. Shadow Fight 2 Cheats Says:

    Come tale ci sono i cosiddetti angeli guarigione , angeli di pace , angeli custodi , angeli
    di bellezza , angeli della casa , angeli del giardino
    , angeli di misericordia , angeli overlighting ogni bosco , ogni montagna ,
    ogni deserto , ogni città , ogni paese , ogni tutto .

    ci sono angeli buoni e ci sono angeli chiamati ‘ angeli caduti .
    C’è anche nessun monitoraggio statistico o eventuali ulteriori
    motivi per trascorrere il tempo giocare .

  53. League Of Angels Hack Says:

    I Mariners hanno fatto il loro debutto nel mese di aprile 1977, ma ha perso i California Angels .
    La squadra , ancora una volta , ha vinto il titolo di divisione nel 1997
    , ma è stato sconfitto nelle ALDS per Baltimore Orioles .
    Il team ha goduto Mariners Hall of Fame con i membri come Dave
    Niehaus , Broadcaster (1977 – presente ) , Alvin Davis
    ( 1984- 91 ) , Jay Buhner ( 1988-2001 ) e Edgar Mart .

  54. hearthstone hacks free Says:

    Se siamo troppo inclini alla democrazia , vedremo presto girare in una monarchia o qualche altra forma di dittatura ‘ .
    ” per essere al primo posto la dice lunga , perché tutti sa ] , talento – saggio , theres un sacco di parità . sembra che i pirati si alterneranno legno e Cedeno a interbase per vedere cosa ha legno .

  55. http://hearthstonecheat.wordpress.com Says:

    Come tale ci sono i cosiddetti angeli guarigione , angeli di pace , angeli
    custodi , angeli di bellezza , angeli della casa , angeli del
    giardino , angeli di misericordia , angeli overlighting ogni bosco
    , ogni montagna , ogni deserto , ogni città , ogni paese , ogni tutto .
    ci sono angeli buoni e ci sono angeli chiamati ‘ angeli caduti
    . il motivo credo che abbiamo tali credenze saldamente radicate
    è perché ci sentiamo una cosa .

  56. fifa15ultimateteamhackonline.wordpress.com Says:

    It’s perfect time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy.
    I’ve read this post and if I could I want to suggest you some interesting things or
    suggestions. Maybe you can write next articles referring to this
    article. I desire to read even more things about it!

  57. Clash Of Lords 2 Hack Says:

    John Milton e Oliver Cromwell utilizzato anche la Bibbia di Ginevra .
    a causa di questa lunghezza , di solito indicato come Angeli o gli aloni .

    7 per cento) – che è un po ‘ più grande divisione
    di ciò che è stato storicamente percepita per essere un due – terzi –
    destri al rapporto di un terzo – mancini .

  58. familyguyhack.marketdone.org Says:

    Il nostro idea era stata quella di distribuire video
    di altre persone . ” per essere al primo posto la dice lunga , perché tutti sa ] , talento – saggio , theres un sacco di parità . ” sarà un fuoco di paglia o
    di diventare una forza da non sottovalutare .

  59. summoners war Hack Says:

    John Milton e Oliver Cromwell utilizzato anche la Bibbia di Ginevra .
    Così tentare una trama logica e un approccio leggermente
    folle , ho intenzione di rendere omaggio alla maggior parte
    dei suoi film più importanti , e un buon numero di suoi minori
    , in un racconto di pura , fantasia gratuito . C’è
    anche nessun monitoraggio statistico o eventuali
    ulteriori motivi per trascorrere il tempo giocare .

  60. boombeachhackgadget.wordpress.com Says:

    Saddam Hussein è un sunnita e la sua setta minoritaria
    governava maggioranza sciiti , curdi e altri gruppi etnici fino
    a quando fu spodestato nel mese di aprile 2003 . ci sono angeli buoni e ci sono angeli chiamati ‘ angeli
    caduti . E il Sabato 3 Maggio ex stella Utah Utes CJ Cron ha fatto
    il suo grande debutto in campionato per i Los Angeles Angels .

  61. family guy The quest for stuff hack bluestacks Says:

    Il nostro idea era stata quella di distribuire video di altre persone .

    Adesso che i Bills hanno fatto dietrofront a Buffalo , i Toronto Argonauts cercherà di difendere il loro
    campo stasera al Rogers Centre . il motivo credo che abbiamo tali
    credenze saldamente radicate è perché ci sentiamo una cosa .

  62. shadow fight 2 hacked apk 1.5.3 Says:

    sai cosa , io sono morto , come insultato posso ottenere , che cosa è il grosso problema .
    Più tardi tutti coloro paesi che hanno rapporti tesi tra loro prenderanno parte alla guerra .
    Cron non può mai prendere il posto di Albert Pujols in prima
    base , come indicato in questa Yahoo .

  63. Boom Beach Trucchi Says:

    Tuttavia, è possibile acquistare alcuni oggetti di gioco con soldi reali.

  64. gameloft Says:

    Hey there if you want to learn c programming then go to above link here you
    can learn c programming easily. There are many source code of c programming which will help you to learn c programmming.
    Notes for HESB TU and PU etc. You can also download HD gameloft android games for free :
    )

  65. sdorttuiiplmnr Says:

    It is really a nice and useful piece of info. I am happy that you shared this helpful information with us. Please keep us informed like this. Thank you for sharing.


Leave a Reply

