Akismet Prejudice Against Bald Men?

Back of Bald HeadIt is odd, that comments my friends have made and my own comments on my post concerning bald men have been marked as spam, and I had to mark them as Not Spam.

This leads me to the question, does Akismet have something against bald men? Are bald men inherently so sexy that Akismet has marked bald as a Spam oriented topic?

Maybe the founders of Akismet are Hair Club for Men members and are in denial of their impending baldness and seek to censor any references to baldness.

I weep for them.

Technorati Tags: , ,
6 Responses to “Akismet Prejudice Against Bald Men?”

  1. Opal: Vegan Momma Says:

    Are bald men inherently so sexy that Akismet has marked bald as a Spam oriented topic?

    I think you’re on to something here.

  2. Snoskred Says:

    I have to agree with Vegan Momma – bald men are very sexy 😉

    I really like your blog design, by the way. Normally I am not a fan of blue on the internet because it has been so overused by forum software.. but it looks great here.. 😉 Great work! And I haven’t seen this design elsewhere (and I look at a LOT of blogs) so that means it’s original as well.. 🙂

    Snoskred
    http://www.snoskred.org/

  3. Thomas Says:

    Opal – I am not going to let Akismet keep a bald man down. 😉

    Snoskred – I will admit I like this design also, but it is one of the standard WordPress themes. I do need to get my column layout resolved, and I have been working on a new ScissorMonkey logo. I hope to roll out the new logo within the next month, and I would like the columns to be a little easier to navigate the content on the site.

    Shannon jokes that being bald and 6’2″ I am easy to find whenever we go anywhere, unless we are at some type of Harley event. Then pretty much everyone has a shaved head and we all look the same again.

  4. Hazel Says:

    Hi Thomas, I was just surfing through and had to stop and read this post. Pretty good observation. I suggest it may have to do with all the spam askimet gets about male pattern baldness and other “issues”. I wonder what other words are getting caught as spam?

  5. Thomas Says:

    Hazel – My guess would be that you are right. I find it interesting that it even blocked my own comments. Personally being bald, I like to think that Akismet is catching the terms because the word is considered too sexy.

  6. Hazel Says:

    You know, I think you’re probably right 😉


Leave a Reply

