All Bald Men Do Not Look Alike

ThomasAndDucLy OK – I will admit that I shave my head, because I am balding. I didn’t want to be that guy who was loosing his hair on top while still trying to keep a pony tail. More power to you if that is what you want, that just isn’t my style.

I was mistaken multiple times for the guy holding the door open to let us into the Jive Software Offices as the beginning of the Portland Blogger Dinner last night. If anyone knows the guy who was acting as doormen to let us in, let me know.

ThomasWritingonBloggerBoard Jeremiah took this picture of Duc Ly, that I found on flickr. Per his blog “It’s about Writing Diaries and Vietnam.” I know I keep talking about the great people I meet, but I really did meet some great people. Apparently the bald guy at the door who looked suspiciously like yours truly was keeping out people who didn’t meet the ‘great’ standard, or if they were let in, I was fortunate enough not to meet them.

Steve Novoselac took the picture of me writing on the blogger board. I am writing the new ScissorMonkey logo that I have been perfecting. I am working on a couple of styles, and this is the style that I would write on the back of a business card Hugh MacLeod of Gaping Void Style.

10 Responses to “All Bald Men Do Not Look Alike”

  1. Opal: Vegan Momma Says:

    Your pictures matches your writing style attractive and approachable. The pictures look great. I think bald is very attractive you wear it well.

    Your account of the event makes me wish I had kept on what is going on in Maryland.

    There are two blogger meetups that I’m aware of that meet monthy one is more “party type” and the other is networking with other professionals.

    I’ll check out the networking one first then work my way to the party on dudes.

  2. James Says:

    That’s the route I’m going if I ever start balding. Just shave it all off. Avoid the combover!

  3. Thomas Says:

    Opal – That is interesting to hear, back in my biker days, someone once told me I was the meanest biker they had ever seen.

    I am looking forward to the next event.

    James – When I was in college there was a professor who was completely bald on top. He grew all of this hair longer, and then would swirl it on top of his head to give the affect that he had hair. I think the only person he was fooling was himself. He was a great teacher but was really uptight about the hair issue. It is a shame that some people let something so simple as hair wind them up so tight.

  4. Opal: Vegan Momma Says:

    I had a Sunday schoolteacher that would do that. I was about eight years old. I remember he did something too quickly and all that hair came out of the neat swirl. You’re right he was only fooling himself.

    I dated a man that was losing his hair. He was in his early twenties. I suggested he should shave it all off since the hair that he did have made him appear older. I’ve always been direct, but I try to do it a nice way since I don’t want to hurt anyones feeling.

    He finally shaved it a few months later when he was ready. He always looked great, but I thought that took him to another level. We’re still friends, and “A” gets a lot of attention. I think because he wasn’t self-conscious anymore.

    He would try the tricks also. I guess there are many other women that like being around bald Italian, software developer, who loves to dance and workout. I’m the last three. We got along well. We still do.

    My friends called me a big nerd because we would talk about computer technology. That wasn’t all we did, but it was something we naturally loved so we talked about it. What made him even more attractive, to me, was how he interacted with others.

    A former coworker “R” is going bald he still has his hair but he doesn’t try to hide the fact that he is bald. I always thought he was very attractive. He differs from “A” in that he is obviously not self-conscious about going bald. He’s intelligent, smart, computer programmer/coder, funny, and he’s not hung up about his hair.

    The media doesn’t help. I recently saw a commercial on tv it featured a product to help those who were going bald. I think it regrows your hair. In the first scene, the lady rejected her partner because he was going bald. He shows up to her house with flowers. She slams the door in his face. After he had hair she was all over him? I was thinking, “Why would he want someone like that?” πŸ˜‰

  5. PDX Bloggers of the World Unite! « Duc N. Ly Says:

    […] Originally uploaded by jeremiah_owyang. Thomas of Scissor Monkey and me at the Portland blogger diner. Maybe I should go see Toni&Guy. I’m 5′-8″ !Β  I probably had a mouth full of Lebanese food or micro brews and couldn’t smile properly.Β  Facebook once again hooked me up to this event.Β Β  See his write up. […]

  6. Drew Says:

    The door man you are talking about is the husband of Jive’s director of events Megan. She kept a low profile but was responsible for getting much of the space and food ready for the blogger dinner last week.

  7. Thomas Says:

    Drew – Thank you for identifying the door man. If I was getting mistaken for him, he must be a good looking fellow πŸ˜‰

    I definitely appreciate Jive’s hospitality. They opened their doors and allowed us to have the Portland Bloggers Dinner. Also thank you to Megan’s spouse for very nicely acting as doorman and letting us in.

  8. teeni Says:

    Thomas, I bet you probably give off a different aura when you are in your biker gear. But in these pictures on this site, Opal is right – you are attractive and wear it well. I suppose that wearing a smile instantly helps make one appear approachable so that didn’t hurt either. πŸ˜‰

  9. Thomas Says:

    teeni – Thank you I appreciate that. I am fortunate that I enjoy my life and I tend to smile a lot. I like to be positive, and try to build up.

    It is weird, Shannon gives me a bad time, because if we are in a crowd, people tend to come to me to talk. Apparently I wear a ‘please come talk to me’ sticker on my head. Not that I mind, I enjoy talking and getting to know people.

  10. Hair and Laser Clinic Singapore Says:

    They look the same to me? and i think its not just on the physical appearance it also about character.


Leave a Reply

