Hello, Hello, Is This Thing On . . .

microphone-trans I am always surprised when bigger names, names that I recognize, find my blog. Writing you blog can be like speaking on the radio, you don’t really know who is listening. Then all of a sudden someone posts on your blog and you recognize their name. It is kind of eerie, how did they find you? Then I remember how hard Jeremiah Owyang works on scouring the web for information pertinent to the projects he is working on.

I wrote earlier Go Big or Go Home, Microsoft’s Blue Monster talking about my thoughts about Hugh MacLeod’s cartoons. If you haven’t checked out Gaping Void you should, Hugh is a very creative and draws cartoons on the back of business cards. These are cartoons that will make you laugh and think at the same time.

Hugh commented, and from his comment I could tell he actually read my post.

In an odd way I was really satisfied by the fact that Hugh read and commented on my post. I got the same feeling as the time Robert Scoble emailed me back, or when Jeremiah from PodTech wrote a post that resolved my question.

During my conversation with Jeremiah he mentioned that no voice is too small, because small voices can become big voices. Look how popularity that video of the guy stuck on the plane on the tarmac for 7 hours.

It would appear that Hugh and Jeremiah get it, and are definitely paying attention.

4 Responses to “Hello, Hello, Is This Thing On . . .”

  1. Opal: Vegan Momma Says:

    I checked out Hugh’s spot, briefly, I’ll be back when I have more time.

    I was excited when Dave Taylor stopped by my spot and commented. I had written a post about purchasing his coding book.

    I wrote a personal review about TuxPaint, and the developer, Bill Kendrick, stopped by to comment on my blog.

    When I emailed Grammarian ProX developer, David Long, to thank him for the product and ask a specific question he followed up with me immediately and even gave me a newer version, still in beta.

    When I excitedly told my friends about it, they said I was an even bigger nerd than they had originally thought. 🙂

    I’m a small voice, but the people above still listened to what I had to say. I won’t forget that. I will continue to recommend on my website and to anyone that I think could benefit from their products/services.

  2. Thomas Says:

    Opal – sorry for the late reply – secret project has been taking up a bit of my time.

    During my conversation with Jeremiah from PodTech he emphatically stated there is no such thing as a small voice anymore. He says you can never tell when a post will go viral. That is why he is so adamant about staying on top of the information flow that is constantly being updated on the Internet.

  3. steve clayton Says:

    Thomas – you’re right about the small voice thing – or Jeremiah is anyways. It never ceases to amaze me how something can go viral from anywhere these days. Blue Monster is a great example as Hugh and I had no idea it would go so big!

  4. Thomas Says:

    Steve – The Blue Monster is really starting to get around. I notice that it has its own Facebook group, that includes quite a few pictures of the different places the Blue Monster has been.

    The Blue Monster is definitely starting conversations, and I think that is one of many positive outcomes that the monster has had.


Leave a Reply

