I Go On Vacation, Scoble Goes on Sabbatical

image I went on vacation and in that week Robert Scoble questions the value he has been adding with his blog and states his intention to take an indefinite break from blogging in his post Things on my mind. From his post he discusses his thoughts after holding a 19 day old baby:

Then I thought about Maryam and Patrick, my son and partner in all things geeky, and Milan, our new son who’ll be here real soon. I haven’t been the best parent I could be. The best husband I could be.

Tonight I looked over my Twitters and blogs. They are angry. Confrontational. Disturbed. Hurt. Dismayed.

. . . So, I’m going to try something else for a while.

Wow – I was only gone a couple of days.

Robert is one the people who got me started in blogging after reading the book Naked Conversations co-authored with Shel Israel. I have used Robert as a beacon to ensure that I was on the right road. Now I think I understand the path I am on enough to continue on my own, but Robert’s posts will definitely be missed.

Robert I wish you the best and look forward to what you have cooking in the future.

2 Responses to “I Go On Vacation, Scoble Goes on Sabbatical”

  1. Opal Tribble Says:

    That had to be a hard decision for him but I think I can understand his reasonings when my daughter was born I took a break from the computer. I just did not have the time.

    It sounds as though his children are young so he wants to spend time with them and his wife. That’s very admirable but I know many would miss him.

    I would feel the same way if you announced you were leaving the blogging scene but I would understand. I missed stopping by your place while you were on vacation.

  2. Thomas Says:

    Opal – I am happy to see that Robert recently posted he plans his break to last a few more days and then he is coming back.

    I do understand his decision. Sometimes it seems that with all the work there is, you get on a treadmill, and have a hard time stopping and getting off. There are times it is best to just step back to take time to reflect and reaffirm what you are doing is the right direction for you.

    It is nice to know I was missed. I did miss the contact I enjoy with my friends and keeping abreast of what they are doing.


Leave a Reply

