Thinking Like Popular Bloggers

imageI know that I am on the right track when I start thinking like other bloggers that I like and admire. I notice that David Airey wrote Celebrate your blog milestones the same day I posted my article Statistics After 90 Days of Blogging. Both of these posts state the milestones the blogs have reached.

While my blog is no where near as popular as David’s I do see growth, and I feel that I am making progress towards my goals.

After reading your favorite blogs for a while, you start to get a handle on what you like and what you don’t. What type of posts and content you want to create and what type of content is right for another blog.

Technorati Tags: , ,
7 Responses to “Thinking Like Popular Bloggers”

  1. nishugoyal Says:

    cool .. i also wrote a blog post after my 30 days of blogging .. I guess i will have more number of views and spams than u within 45 days .. but not comments 😦

  2. Thomas Says:

    nishugoyal – Congrats, those are solid stats in a short period of time. It looks like your blog is really coming along. It is funny that spam can be used as a measurement of how your blog is doing.

    I found a good way to get people to start commenting on your blog, is to comment A LOT on other blogs. Try to comment on over 10 blogs a day. Ensure that you really read the posts, and write solid comments. If you have a post that relates to the post you are commenting on, link to it. This method for generating comments worked for me.

    When people comment on my blog, I try to ensure that I start reading their blog, and try to start leaving comments.

  3. Opal Tribble Says:

    After reading your favorite blogs for a while, you start to get a handle on what you like and what you don’t. What type of posts and content you want to create and what type of content is right for another blog.

    That’s exactly what I did a few months ago and I’m doing it again as I mentioned in a previous post the direction of Vegan Momma has changed I have an idea of where it will ultimately end up so I’m looking at websites that are similar.

    You’ve done well. David Airey is another excellent blogger. I rarely comment on his blog I mainly read what he’s saying via my RSS feed.

  4. Thomas Says:

    Opal – I have found good help in finding my voice with my writing from reading other blogs. When I first started I was hesitant about posting information about my family, except for vague, veiled references. After reading other bloggers, I now tend to be more open about posts concerning the family . . . within reason of course.

    I enjoy reading David, I have learned a lot reading his blog. I got to know him and quite a few others by participating in his Face Behind the Blog Meme.

  5. David Airey Says:

    Thomas, Opal,

    Thanks for the kind words. I’m continually humbled by the wonderful people there are with similar interests, and it’s a pleasure to have found you both.

  6. nishugoyal Says:

    “When people comment on my blog, I try to ensure that I start reading their blog, and try to start leaving comments.”

    it means tht u saw my blog too 😀
    anyways .. i wuld appriciate work of wordpress which keep trac of comments i post to others blogs. you got a nice blog .. i am adding u in my blogroll.. wht name sld i give to link?

  7. Thomas Says:

    David – Keep up the great work. I definitely use your blog as a sounding board of what I will do with mine, and some of the directions I have taken.

    nishugoyal – I have started to read your blog. It looks like you have some solid content. I will be posting comments after I have a chance to read a bit more, and become more familiar.

    Using WordPress, you are able to track the comments you write on others blogs. If you look at My Dashboad > Dashboard > My Comments, all comments you have written on WordPress blogs will be added.

    Thanks for adding me to your blogroll – “Thomas – Technical Blogger” works just fine for me, if you want to somehow customize that for your readers, that is up to you.


Leave a Reply

