Wishing My Friend Well

A women I know, I could call her a friend, manages the restaurant and deli I eat at most every day. Teresa stays physically fit, does yoga, eats right, and doesn’t own a car. Her son is just a few years younger then my daughter so we frequently trade stories about our kids. She treads lightly on the earth, takes her work in the service industry seriously, and leaves you feeling positive. She is a good person and I like her.

Yesterday I received the following news.

Teresa was riding her bike. She reached up and realized she did not have her bike helmet on, just her bike cap, so he turned around to go back and get her helmet. On the way to back get her helmet, she was hit by a car. The driver was talking on her cell phone, and didn’t even bother to stop. Witnesses were able to give the authorities license plate information.

Apparently Teresa is ok, but now has a few staples in her head, and re-injured her shoulder that was just about healed from an incident last year.

I was thinking that I wanted to do something. After reading this post from teeni of vaguetarian tea room More Flowers for Friends Again, I was motivate to write this post.

This image is, a hand made card, from the Ru Yi Studio Gallery and means flow with good energy. Teresa I am sending you all the good energy I got. Be well, take care of yourself and feel better soon.

8 Responses to “Wishing My Friend Well”

  1. teeni Says:

    Thomas, please accept this comment as a get well wish you can pass on to Teresa as soon as she is able to read your posts again! Sending her lots of good healing energy and sorry she had to endure this.

    Also, this gives me an idea!!! I’m going to call it “blog-volley-ball.” My post inspired your post and now your post has inspired another one from me. I’m going to go write about it now and we’ll see if I can inspire another post from you again with it. How long can we volley? 😉

    I’ll ping back here when I’m done.

  2. Cell Phones and Volly Blog* « vaguetarian tea room Says:

    […] Aug 31st, 2007 by teeni If you’ve read my “About” section, you’ll have seen my little blurb where I mention that sometimes I think going back a little in time would make life less stressful. Cell phones are one of the things that sometimes make me feel this way, specifically because of things that happen such as what Thomas posted about here on his blog. […]

  3. teeni Says:

    My post is done but I changed the term blog-volley-ball to just “volley-blog” – easier to say!

  4. Opal Tribble Says:

    Wow! That’s truly sad. I’m glad that she is of and what a shame that the driver didn’t even stop. That wasn’t smart since she’ll get into more trouble now.

  5. Sassy Says:

    Thomas, I’m so sorry to hear about your friend. Glad she’s going to be ok though. As far as the one who didn’t stop, it’s such a shame that someone takes a life for granted. Sending good vibes y’alls way!!

  6. merrimerri Says:

    Wow, I just read about this on Teeni’s blog…
    Poor lady; hope that she is continuing to do ok!
    I detest people driving and using their cell phones.
    I and my husband ALWAYS pull over or else don’t answer .
    I love the card!

  7. Thomas Says:

    teeni – thank you for the well wishes. I appreciate it. I like volleyball, let’s see how we like volleyblog.

    Opal – I don’t know much about the situation, but I am not sure if the driver was even aware of Teresa. I do find it hard to wrap my head around hitting someone, and not even being aware of it.

    Sassy – Thanks for the good vibes. Teresa is a pretty tough lady. When I asked someone today how she was doing, they said she sounded like crap – she won’t take any pain medication.

    merrimerri – thank you for stopping by, and thank you for the kind sentiment.

    I really appreciate everyone’s well wishes. Teresa is supposed to be back to work next week, so I am going to print this post with comments out for her to read.

  8. VolleyBlog Game « Says:

    […] Well Wishes […]


Leave a Reply

