Penny Arcade’s Take on Anonymous Comments

As of late, I have written about anonymous comments. It seems that this comic by Penny Arcade perfectly demonstrates the nature of some commenters to hide behind anonymity to post inappropriate comments.

Penny Arcade

The community that is building around my blog is important to me, and I will not allow inappropriate comments to damping this community. I have no problems with dissenting opinions, or people telling me that I am wrong, but I posted my Living Room Rule of Posting what type of comments I will allow on my blog.

4 Responses to “Penny Arcade’s Take on Anonymous Comments”

  1. Opal Tribble Says:

    I think it depends for most of my websites i won’t allow it but for Healing Yourself Naturally I will mainly because I do participate in health forums where some people are more comfortable using “Anonymous” than a screen name (of course that can be fictitious also but I guess some people don’t think about that.)

    The majority of my commenters for Healing Yourself Naturally contact me through email and some of the questions they do ask are “personal” so I can see why they don’t want that attached to a name.

    I’m hoping in opening it up to anonymous those who do have questions might receive some of the answers simply by reading what others have already asked. We’ll see! 😉

  2. Opal Tribble Says:

    I agree inappropriate comments are off limits!
    I have had about three – five on Vegan Momma. That’s not bad since I have had that website for almost three years.

  3. Thomas Says:

    Opal – I allow anonymous comments but I am fortunate that I haven’t really had any problems. I manage my comments pretty aggressively, and Akismet is an excellent Spam blocker.

    I have been pretty fortunate that I haven’t encountered any issues yet, but my blog is really only about 3 months old, I am sure I will encounter problems some time in the future.

  4. Melanie Gifford Says:

    Heh I am really the only comment to your great article?


Leave a Reply

