Kick Ass with Chow Yun Fat in Stranglehold

StrangleHoldBanner

Stranglehold-bloody_dove Opal from Vegan Momma mentioned she was having a great time with Bioshock in her post Bioshock: Try The Demo Before You Buy On Xbox Live. These demos that you can download for free really give you a feel for how a game will play.

A demo is what lead me to purchase Stranglehold, for my Xbox 360. This is a game directed by John Woo, starring Chow Yun Fat. Chow Yun Fat reprises his role as Tequila from the movie Hard Boiled.

Hard Boiled is an over the top Hong Kong action flick containing gun ballet style shoot outs. If you can put aside the gore, and don’t be fooled, gore there is, John Woo really displays the talent that has made him so popular in this action movie genre. Of course because there is John Woo there are also doves.

Do keep in mind this game is rated M for Mature due to what they refer to as intense violence, blood and drug references.

Trailer

Stranglehold really brings Hong Kong cinematic action to life. You can interact with many areas of the environment, such as sliding down banisters, sliding across tables, or shooting a sign to fall on an enemy. You get style points for making your shots while performing these maneuvers. I have been playing the game for a couple of hours, and I find the game play to be very exciting. I have found this to be an excellent game, great graphics, and it really keeps your attention.

Sample Gameplay

Check out the information for Stranglehold on Xbox.com, and watch the trailers. If you enjoy John Woo style movies, you will love Stranglehold. Go download the demo, and I am sure you will be buying the game first chance you get, I know I did.

Bonus fun tip – when you achieve the precision aim ability, go for a crotch shot . . . good times will be had be all, ok maybe not the target.

Technorati Tags: , , , , , ,

7 Responses to “Kick Ass with Chow Yun Fat in Stranglehold”

  1. Opal Tribble Says:

    Wow this is nice! I’m definitely going to check out the Demo. I think Chow Yun Fat is an excellent actor. I didn’t see that movie, but I’ll be checking it out.

    I agree the demo’s give you a feel for how the game is going to play. I can think of a few games I would not have purchased if I could have played them on Xbox live.

    I cannot even imagine what the games will look like when my daughter is a teenage. She’s already very good at the games I let her play. She is only four years old. She will be owning her mom in no time. She already tells the game, “You just got owned!” I let her play a few times a week.

    Oh by the title for this post is fabulous.

  2. teeni Says:

    Hmm. I wonder if my hubby has tried this one yet? I’ll have to mention it to him as he tends to like the shoot ’em up games (as I call them). LOL. I tend to stick to the cutesy ones like Rayman and Mario myself. Some of the newer games are so realistic they make me motion sick. That’s sad. LOL.

  3. Thomas Says:

    Opal – This demo is definitely worth checking out, especially if you are a fan of John Woo and Chow Yun Fat. I can’t imagine what games like these will be like in 10 years or so, I am definitely looking forward to it.

    teeni – If you haven’t you should try Viva Pinata. I will warn you though, it is definitely addictive. Just ask Opal.
    Yeah I sometimes get a bit motion sick myself, and periodically need to take a time out to get go water or something.

  4. I am a Suckie Ninja Playing Tenchu Z « Thomas - Technical Blogger Says:

    […] Kicking Ass with Chow Yun Fat in Stranglehold, I have also been playing Tenchu Z. The game play for Tenchu Z is excellent, but reminds me of the […]

  5. Opal Tribble Says:

    Thomas,
    I think I’ll check it out tonight. I’m taking my daughter to Chuck E. Cheese tomorrow and I told her she needs to be in bed early so she will be “fully rested” for tomorrows adventure! 😉

    teeni,
    You really should try Viva Pinata its a whole load of cuteness. I think you would really like it!

  6. Thomas Says:

    Opal – As we have talked about before, Viva Pinata is evil in a good fun way. It will suck your time away before you know it, but it is a lot of fun that can be had by the entire family.

    Using the old, you need to be rested trick, good job! I will be interested to hear what you think after you play the game. Let me know!

  7. teeni Says:

    Wow – I actually saw a preview or demo or something of Viva Pinata and it did look fun but it wasn’t going to be available for a while (obviously this was a while ago). I do think I’ll have to get myself a copy of that game! Thanks for the recommendation from both you and Opal! 😉


Leave a Reply

