I am a Suckie Ninja Playing Tenchu Z

TenchuZ

Besides Kicking Ass with Chow Yun Fat in Stranglehold, I have also been playing Tenchu Z. The game play for Tenchu Z is excellent, but reminds me of the fact, that I am a SUCKIE ninja.

I would as the website taunts:

Master the Ancient art of Stealth in Tenchu Z using your keen senses and wide array of Ninja weaponry to become the Ultimate Ninja Assassin. . . .
Use sound, smell and sight to master the “Stealth Kill.” Scale walls, fly over rooftops and spring from the shadows to attack without detection as you eliminate even the toughest opponents with one devastating blow.

except for the fact that I suck at stealth games.

This should have been apparent to me when I played Ninja Gaiden on my Xbox, and couldn’t get past the 3rd level with the horseman with the bow and arrows. I even bought the guide for Ninja Gaiden, which informed me to just do this certain move, which I did, but apparently didn’t do at the right time, or in the right way. I liked the game play and graphics, but I found Ninja Gaiden to be too frustrating and stopped playing.

But Tenchu Z is different. I enjoy the graphics, and I like the idea of the game, I just need to figure out how to be a better ultimate assassin. The way I initially played did not qualify as ultimate assassin of anything. I figured I would turn to YouTube to see if I could find some videos on how to improve my playing skills. I was not disappointed.

I watched Stealth Killing 101, a must for any aspiring ultimate assassin

I also watched the walk through of mission 1 on the hard setting to get a better handle on stealth kills in this game.

Watching these videos was very helpful. I now find this game more fun to play. On your screen, you have a meter in the lower left. The meter informs you of how close an enemy is, your character’s health, stealth meter and current visibility – the higher your visibility the more likely you are to be seen.

I am now able to successfully navigate mission 1, and have progressed to mission 2. Now I just need some time to work on the second mission. I also reviewed the forums to find character generation information, and found some good information. I am used to playing games using a strength character, and Tenchu Z isn’t that type of game. You need stealth and agility in this game, so I adjusted my stats accordingly.

On the Xbox.com site, it mentions there is a demo, for those that like to try before they buy. I am glad that I stuck with this game and took the time to get better. I don’t have a lot of time to play games, so I like to play games that I start immediately having fun in, not just being cannon fodder for others, while being unable to complete the first mission.

At this point I wouldn’t say I was the ultimate assassin, I would say I probably rank more as the ‘get er done assassin.’ I am getting better, so those enemies in mission 2 better stand by, the weekend is coming up, and I will have time for playing games.

Technorati Tags: , , , , ,

8 Responses to “I am a Suckie Ninja Playing Tenchu Z”

  1. Thomas Says:

    Tim – These videos really helped me get a handle on playing the game. Before watching these, I was starting to get frustrated.

  2. Opal Tribble Says:

    It looks like fun. It’s interesting that you posted about Ninja Gaidan My buddy Bush Mackel wrote about it yesterday you can read it here https://scissormonkey.wordpress.com/2007/09/21/i-am-a-suckie-ninja-playing-tenchu-z/#comments
    Isn’t YouTube great? I check them out when I am stuck with a game. I’m going to have to check out the demo for Tenchu Zu!

  3. Bush Mackel Says:

    You know, I haven’t played THIS Tenchu yet, but it looks like good messy fun. (#):) I love stealth games and I used to love Tenchu, but for some reason have just missed the last 4 or so. ha ha.

  4. Thomas Says:

    Opal – This is a pretty fun game, you should definitely check out the demo. YouTube definitely helped me out. I was not making any progress and watching the Tenchu Z videos definitely helped me to understand how to play the game successfully. Thanks for the link to Bush, it is always cool to meet good people.

    Bush – I think you will enjoy Tenchu Z. The graphics are solid and so far the game play has been great. I am only the second level. Xbox says there is a demo, which could be just a download away . . .

  5. teeni Says:

    The videos scared me! That little ninja guy seemed to be actually enjoying it a little too much when he was running people through with his sword! LOL.

  6. teeni Says:

    I have finished and published my volleyblog post. It is here: http://vtroom.wordpress.com/2007/09/30/po-ke-no/. The ball is now in your court.


Leave a Reply

