Free View of My Desktop

 

Opal tagged me wanting a free view of my desktop. How can you deny a request like the following?

My favorite Microsoft Guy in the universe. I make a point to stop by Thomas spot a few times per week. I enjoy his mix of technical, gaming, and a few personal shots of his every day life. He doesn’t talk down to people and is warm and friendly. Get comfortable, loosen your belt, and prepared for a full course buffet when you stop by his place. Thomas brings new flava to technology. Watch him. He’s blowin’ up. Check out his post What Do You Add To The Conversation?

Yes that was under my name! What a glowing report, according to Opal, I bring new flava, and I am blowin’ up. How can you say no to that . . . I know I can’t. I have to laugh because Opal has mentioned my site as a “full course buffet” before. The reason this is so humorous, when I teach I tell people “if knowledge is a meal, prepare for the all you can eat buffet.” So I am uploading screen shots of my desktop and my laptop.

Desktop

My desktop is the system I use at home. I don’t like a cluttered desktop, so I keep it clear of icons. The programs I use most frequently are located in the quick launch area, with some on the task bar.

As an FYI, I used SnagIt from TechSmith for my screen captures. It is an excellent screen capture utility.

Laptop

My laptop is the system I use at work. Again I keep my desktop clear of icons. At this point, both my systems just have default backgrounds that are included with Vista, Usually I have some type of picture of a Zen Garden. I like my desktop to be a nice soothing picture, and my desktop to be clear.

My Desktop Free View Instruction:

A. Upon receiving this tag, immediately perform a screen capture of your desktop. It is best that no icons be deleted before the screen capture so as to add to the element of fun.

You can do a screen capture by: [1] Going to your desktop and pressing the Print Scrn key (located on the right side of the F12 key). [2] Open a graphics program (like Picture Manager, Paint, or Photoshop) and do a Paste (CTRL + V). [3] If you wish, you can “edit” the image, before saving it. I used SnagIt, it is an excellent screen capture utility.

For MAC users: Press [ Apple] [ Ctrl ] [ Shift ] and [ 3 ]

B. Post the picture in your blog. You can also give a short explanation on the look of your desktop just below it if you want. You can explain why you preferred such look or why is it full of icons. Things like that. – I added my information above.

C. Tag five of your friends and ask them to give you a Free View of their desktop as well. – If someone who reads my blog would like to participate, that would be great, but I am not much of a tagger.

D. Add your name to this list of Free Viewers with a link pointing directly to your Desktop Free View post to promote it to succeeding participants.

Update 9/23/07: Apparently there is a banner as follows for this Desktop Free View, banner added to top of post.

Update 10/2/07: Update to link to other participants, after the break. People have some really interesting desktops.

 

31 Responses to “Free View of My Desktop”

  1. iRonnie Says:

    hi thomas! i also do not like my desktop cluttered. somehow it defeats my purpose of finding an eye-soothing wallpaper. both of your desktops are relaxing. i like them both.

    in case you’re interested, im keeping a list, to the best of my tracking ability, of those people participating. you may want to check it out from time to time. thanks for the free view. 😀

    thanks for participating and have a great sunday!

  2. teeni Says:

    Thomas, I know what you mean about Opal. She really knows how to “butter” someone up. LOL. Not that she needs to. She’s so sweet I’d probably do it even if she didn’t say all those nice things about me. Anyway, both of your desktops are very serene. I like them – those are the kind of vacations I like to take. 😉 Okay, well I can’t stay long at this virtual buffet because I’m full already. Burrrrrp! LOL

  3. Connie Bensen Says:

    Isn’t SnagIt great?! Through someone I met on Twitter (a MS employee btw!), I’m going to be introduced to TechSmith’s evangelist. *woo hoo!*

    I use SnagIt all the time for tossing up tutorials on our blog.

    Thanks for sharing your desktop images.

  4. Bush Mackel Says:

    I respect your desktop my man. I still need to get on that tag too!

  5. silip desktop « SPONTANEITY Says:

    […] laketrees manilenya beingjaja nika kath sheila marni vanidosa speedcat francine girlie lizeth dicey thomas kk aunt jackie emmy rose vera AZRAEL M A R U JeanGrey Kengkay Kiko TinTin […]

  6. Thomas Says:

    iRonnie – Good idea for a meme, it is always interesting to see what other people are using for their desktop, no matter what operating system the are running. I agree about the soothing desktop, definitely makes my day easier. I will be periodically checking your site to see how the meme progresses.

    teeni – You are right, Opal is so nice, you are just happy to do things for her. I do like to have my desktops act as mini vacations. When things get hectic, I minimize all my windows and just take a breather with my desktop. Glad to hear that you are enjoying what is on the menu.

    Connie – Being a content developer I would be lost without SnagIt. I don’t think a day goes by that I don’t use the program somehow. You have been meeting quite a few MS employees, if you weren’t so nice, I would accuse you of stalking us 😉

    Bush – Thanks I appreciate that. I like to keep things clean and lean. I look forward to seeing what you post.

  7. desktop free view « Rhapsody… Says:

    […] sheila ♦ marni ♦ vanidosa ♦ speedcat ♦ francine ♦ girlie ♦ lizeth ♦ dicey ♦ thomas ♦ kk ♦ aunt jackie ♦ emmy rose ♦ vera  ♦ AZRAEL ♦ M A R U  ♦ JeanGrey ♦ […]

  8. Opal Tribble Says:

    I really like your desktop.

    It’s easy to write nice things about my blog buddies the are all true, and yes you do bring new flava when writing about your technology posts and it is like a full course meal. In that way you are similar to Dosh Dosh what sets him apart from other sites that write about Improving your website/making money online is his write ups is very thorough.

    I rarely read those type of websites anymore but now, and again I’ll see what Dosh Dosh is writing. I think no one writing about that can come close to him. I respect that I guess because that is something I do.

    Occasionally I think of the song by Craig Mac, “Flava In Ya Ear” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2XcQYDSEuKQ 😉 when I come across a website that really stands out I liked that rap because they had a whole lot of rappers saying their piece in one song. Lots of rappers on that song Biggie, Craig Mac, P. Diddy, Busta, LL Cool J, etc., There were cameos by DDJ Red Alert, Das Efx, Irv Gotti, back when that came out I had seen nothing like it “new flava to rap song and video. 😉

    It was considered one of the great posse cuts ever. It’s one of my favorite raps and yes occasionally that song comes to mind when I stop by your website.

  9. May desktop din ako… « Nomadic Thoughts Says:

    […] ♦ sheila ♦ marni ♦ vanidosa ♦ speedcat ♦ francine ♦ girlie ♦ lizeth ♦ dicey ♦ thomas ♦ kk ♦ aunt jackie ♦ emmy rose ♦ vera ♦ AZRAEL ♦ M A R U ♦ JeanGrey ♦ Kengkay ♦ […]

  10. ISKAndals.com » I’ll Show You Mine, You Show Me Yours Says:

    […] laketrees manilenya beingjaja nika kath sheila marni vanidosa speedcat francine girlie lizeth dicey thomas kk aunt jackie emmy rose vera AZRAEL M A R U JeanGrey Kengkay Kiko TinTin jojitah bursky iska […]

  11. mine.yours? at spiCes Says:

    […] laketrees manilenya beingjaja nika kath sheila marni vanidosa speedcat francine girlie lizeth dicey thomas kk aunt jackie emmy rose vera AZRAEL M A R U JeanGrey Kengkay Kiko TinTin jojitah bursky iska […]

  12. Better Late Than Never « jun.anteola Says:

    […] * beingjaja * nika * sheila * marni * vanidosa * speedcat * francine * girlie * lizeth * dicey * thomas * kk * aunt jackie * emmy rose * vera * AZRAEL * M A R […]

  13. LAFANG » SHOW TIME! Says:

    […] laketrees manilenya beingjaja nika kath sheila marni vanidosa speedcat francine girlie lizeth dicey thomas kk aunt jackie emmy rose vera AZRAEL M A R U JeanGrey Kengkay Kiko TinTin jojitah bursky […]

  14. Wifely Steps » Blog Archive » What’s on your desktop? Says:

    […] laketrees manilenya beingjaja nika kath sheila marni vanidosa speedcat francine girlie lizeth dicey thomas kk aunt jackie emmy rose vera AZRAEL M A R U JeanGrey Kengkay Kiko TinTin jojitah bursky iska […]

  15. Chewednine.Com » Free View of My Desktop Says:

    […] wrote an interesting post today on Free View of My DesktopHere’s a quick […]

  16. жби Says:

    Вау, гуд!

  17. Submit Url Says:

    This is great. I love business cards

  18. Travis Says:

    I have been browsing on-line more than three hours lately, yet I by no means found any fascinating article like yours.
    It’s beautiful worth enough for me. In my view, if all website owners and bloggers made just right content material as you probably did, the web will probably be a lot more helpful than ever before.

  19. caravan cover Says:

    These are actually enormous ideas in regarding blogging.

    You have touched some fastidious points here. Any way keep up wrinting.


Leave a comment