How is She 14?

Today is Nicole’s 14th birthday. Her birthday is about 2 weeks after mine. I typically don’t feel older on my birthday, I feel older on hers. Overall Nicole is a great kid. Meeting her friends at the birthday / skating party yesterday, Shannon and I feel good about the choices she has made concerning friends. Nicole is doing well great in school and excels at competing in the jumper class her horse.

MVC-001SCrop It is hard to not still think of her as my little girl. It seems like just the other day that Nicole was riding in the back seat of the car holding a stuffed animal. In the rearview mirror, I see the stuffed animal get tossed to the other side of the car. When I asked her what she was doing, she looked at me solemnly and said “Daddy, my hand went crazy.” She found that to be a legitimate excuse. She was so little, cute and serious it was hard to argue with her. To this day if something unexplained happens, the ‘my hand went crazy’ excuse is used again.

The picture of her in the purple dress is one of my favorites. I had just come out the backdoor with my camera and said, I am going to take your picture, Nicole screamed and took off. That picture of her in motion always brings a smile to my face.

It is hard to believe, Nicole is 14. She has become quite the accomplished equestrian, and rides 4 days a week. She competes a couple of times a year, and is amazing to watch.

DSC_0004_editedDSC_0019 DSC_0026

As a parent, there is a huge sense of pride watching your child work and achieve her goals. This past summer she competed in two competitions and did very well. She even managed a couple of first place ribbons.

Today during her horse lesson, she took a tumble, and didn’t let go of the reigns. Not letting go of the reigns, she was dragged in the sand a bit. She came home with an abrasion on her back, with a bunch of sand ground into it. She had washed it at the barn, but there was still quite a bit of dirt ground in.

When Nicole got home, she asked me if I would look at it, and clean it for her.

Nicole – Will cleaning it hurt?

Me – What answer do you want, a mom answer, or my answer?

Nicole – I want your answer.

Me – It is going to hurt a bit, but we have to clean the sand out so it doesn’t get infected, which will hurt worse, and then you could end up at the doctor and need a shot.

Nicole – OK, but try and be gentle.

She hung in pretty tough while I cleaned it for her. When it comes to any procedure being done, like getting a shot, or having blood drawn, I am the one she prefers to have around. When she asks me about the procedure I try to be honest and straightforward with her. I know she doesn’t always like what she hears, but she appreciates that I don’t try to sugar coat how things will be.

When she got home from her horse lesson, we had some plans for the day, but after the fall, a laid back day was more in order. She just stayed home and played her new Nintendo DS games she got for her birthday.

I can’t believe she is 14. For some reason, saying I have a 14 year old daughter, makes me feel older than telling people how old I am.

Happy birthday sweetie, I am really proud of you.

Posted in Family. 6 Comments »

6 Responses to “How is She 14?”

  1. teeni Says:

    Awww. What a sweet post. Loved, loved, LOVED it! πŸ˜‰ Happy Birthday to Nicole. Fourteen is a WONderful age! πŸ™‚

  2. Nintendo » How is She 14? Says:

    […] James Allan Brady wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptShe just stayed home and played her new Nintendo DS games she got for her birthday. I can’t believe she is 14. For some reason, saying I have a 14 year old daughter, makes me feel older than telling people how old I am. … […]

  3. Games » How is She 14? Says:

    […] KarateKid wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptShe just stayed home and played her new Nintendo DS games she got for her birthday. I can’t believe she is 14. For some reason, saying I have a 14 year old daughter, makes me feel older than telling people how old I am. … […]

  4. Thomas Says:

    teeni – I hope that 14 is a wonderful age for Nicole. She is a good kid and she definitely deserves it. The teenage years can be difficult. Bodies are changing, hormones are new and confusing, and people at school can be cruel. We are fortunate that Nicole has a good head on her shoulders, and doesn’t appear to put up with a lot of petty BS at school. Shannon and I try to be active in her life, and I think having a sport like horse riding to focus on besides school, helps keep school in perspective.

  5. Opal Tribble Says:

    Happy Birthday Nicole! You are an amazing young lady and you have equally amazing parents. I’m sure as you become older you’ll appreciate even more all they have done for you as for now enjoy your youth. πŸ™‚

    Great post Thomas!

  6. Thomas Says:

    Opal – Thanks, I will pass on your birthday wishes. At this point she knows she a good deal, but she is a tennager, and isn’t always willing to acknowledge how good she has it.


Leave a Reply

