But What if I Fail?

Comic by Hugh MacLeod Comic by Hugh MacLeod @ Gaping Void. I think this cartoon is a perfect example of why a lot of projects, ideas or concepts don’t make progress. The fear of failure paralyzes some and keeps them from ever getting started.

This is one of the issues I was trying to address, in my post Go Big or Go Home, Microsoft’s Blue Monster.

A great quote by Joachim DePosada:

Anything worth doing, is worth doing poorly.

 

 

This quote acknowledges when you first start something, you can’t expect to be good at it. You have to be willing to be bad at something before you can improve.

If our fear of failure keeps us from even starting, how are we going to move forward. As ol’ Rocky Balboa said:

It’s about how hard you can get hit, and keep moving forward… how much you can take, and keep moving forward. That’s how winning is done.

 

When you first started to drive, or created your first art you were not an expert at it. In fact you might have been pretty bad. It is that willingness to do something poorly at first and then improve through persistence and determination. You cannot let fear of failure hold you back. You have to be willing to do something poorly, and then be willing to keep trying.

It’s hard to kick ass, if you don’t start.

One Response to “But What if I Fail?”

  1. Duplicate Post - But What if I Fail? « Thomas - Technical Blogger Says:

    […] for the duplicate post of But What if I Fail?. I use Windows Live Writer to write all my posts offline, and then I upload them when I am finished […]


Leave a Reply

