Sometimes the Customer is Wrong

I found the following video on The Secret Diary of Steve Jobs in his post Caught on film: Our service rep doing his job correctly. The video documents a customer trying to get service on their iPhone. I would have to say that I agree with FSJ. During my conversation with Jeremiah Owyang, he discusses the intention of the customer. When you are trying to help a customer you need to assess what the customer’s intention is:

Is the customer truly seeking help?

Is the Customer trying to find an angle to cause a problem?

After completing this assessment you need to decide if the customer is worth keeping. I think this video is an example of someone just trying to cause problems in the hopes of manufacturing a story.

A couple of issues come to mind while I watch this video that make me question the customers intent:

  • What is the purpose of the hidden camera?
  • When the Apple tech is trying to help them, why is the customer unwilling to give out their information so the product can be fixed?
  • Part of the obligation when buying the phone is a two year service agreement with AT&T, why is the customer surprised when this obligation is brought up?
  • If the phone was untouched where is the SIM for the phone?

Even at the end of the video the Apple tech is still trying to help the customer resolve the issue, but the customer just walks away.

The comments for the write up on The Unofficial Apple Weblog, TUAW.com, Found Footage: Apple Store refuses service to iPhone sans AT&T contract, are overwhelming negative against the customer. I think the end line of the updated post sums it up with “We call shenanigans.”

This seems like a poor try to manufacture news to me.

Technorati Tags: , , , ,

3 Responses to “Sometimes the Customer is Wrong”

  1. Opal Tribble/Vegan Momma Says:

    Hmm… It seems as if his point was that Apple won’t service the phone without an AT&T contract? I don’t understand that. I thought that was well known. I’m also curious as to why he did not register the phone. It makes no sense to me.

    I have heard that some people have had bad experiences at the Apple store but thankfully the one I frequent have a courteous staff. I foolishly wiped out one of my system files. I was able to take it in and get it serviced. It took three hours but it was completed, lol.

  2. Thomas Says:

    Opal – I am not familiar with Apple service, but others have said the same thing you do, that overall they are happy with the service.

    I think the person that shot this video was trying to manufacture a story, it isn’t even obvious that the customer retrieves their iPhone as they are leaving. I understand trying to seek out news, but this video just seems like a waste of everyone’s time.

    To the Apple Tech’s credit, he was trying to help the customer out, until the customer walked off.

  3. Time to Fire the Customer? « Thomas - Technical Blogger Says:

    […] to Fire the Customer? October 31st, 2007 — Thomas I wrote a post Sometimes the Customer is Wrong about a customer trying to get service on an iPhone that did not meet the contractual agreements. […]


Leave a Reply

