Google Job Requirement

I was beginning to think that James Moody of Geek in Paradise was dead, or at least on permanent blog vacation, and then he posts this: Want a job at Google? about an ad for a job at Google for an Executive Assistant to the Executive Director, Google.org – San Francisco.

Here is a copy of the ad, check out the 3rd bullet point under Requirements that I have highlighted:

Proven mastery of Office applications, including Word, Excel, PowerPoint and Outlook.

 

 

GoogleJob-MSHighligh

OK – now that it is out in the open that Google uses Microsoft tools, can we all just get along now? It seems that people want to have religious wars over tools. I’ve mentioned my Ed Hume analogy before, from my post Religions of Rich Internet Applications:

I always find it interesting that we separate ourselves into camps. I don’t think you would hear Ed Hume, a gardening personality, duking it out with other gardeners about a hoe or a spade being a better tool – he would want to know what you ant to do, and then tell you the best tool for the job. Yet we are willing to have great debates over operating systems, applications or gadgets.

I say use the tool that best meets your needs.

8 Responses to “Google Job Requirement”

  1. James Says:

    Hah, not dead, yet!

    Business is picking up and I had to make the decision to slack off on blogging, or push forward with the business. Once things get a bit more settled, I’ll pick it up again.

  2. Thomas Says:

    James – Nice to ‘see’ you. It is good to know that you are still out there, and that your business is picking up!

    I completely understand about business getting busy. Recently during the release of Office Live Meeting, I got pretty busy and didn’t have time for blogging either.

  3. teeni Says:

    Just common sense. Why do we always need reminding of this simple thing? 😉

  4. Thomas Says:

    teeni – Some people like to turn this kind of issue into a ‘gotcha.’ As I said they are just tools . . .

  5. Opal Tribble/ Says:

    I guess I’m missing something here…
    Were people saying that Google only used Apple Mac?

  6. Thomas Says:

    Opal – Some people think the issue is that Google has a suite of online applications that they don’t seem to use in-house, from this ad it appears they use Microsoft Office.

  7. Blackjack Says:

    I’m impressed, I have to say. Actually not often do I encounter a blog that’s both educative and entertaining, and let me let you know, you’ve hit the nail on the head. Your concept is excellent; the issue is something that not sufficient persons are speaking intelligently about. I’m very completely happy that I stumbled across this in my search for one thing relating to this.

  8. Thomas Job is … | What is this ? Says:

    […] Google Job Requirement « Thomas – Technical Blogger click here … […]


Leave a Reply

