Post Processing Photos

After my post Portland in Fall, I decided to try my hand at a little post processing of the pictures. I tweaked the colors a little, and here are some before and after shots. I did not want any drastic changes, just something that would make the fall colors pop a little better.

The before shots are first, the after shots are second. Click the pictures for the original shots on Flickr.

Adding Red, Yellow and Blue

Notice in the second picture I amped up the red, yellow and blue. This makes the colors pop a little better.

Adding Orange

In this next set, I amped up the orange and a little bit of yellow.

This makes the leaves come to life a little better, and gives them greater contrast to the pavement.

Adding Yellow

A few simple changes can really show the vibrancy of the tree.

I did not do any drastic changes, I wanted to ensure the vibrancy of the colors, not alter the basics in the photograph.

Manipulating Images

Applications that can perform this type of image manipulation include

Being a Content Developer, I have been a PhotoShop user for years, so I am more familiar with the way Lightroom works, but ACDSee Pro 2 looks like an excellent product with great features. I am looking forward to getting my hands dirty using these programs.

Technorati Tags: , ,

6 Responses to “Post Processing Photos”

  1. Opal Tribble/ Says:

    Those are fantastic shots also. I love leaves. πŸ™‚

    From your description of the two it seems that Aperture 1.5 does what both of those applications do. However it is an Apple Product. I organize, adjust, present large volumes. I can also enhance if I want to.

    I use Photoshop Elements 4 Mac if I want to do something off the wall like turn a picture into a painting.

  2. Thomas Says:

    Opal – Thanks I like how a little post processing really makes the photos pop.

    You are correct Aperture 1.5 is the same type of program as ACDSee Pro 2 and Adobe Lightroom. I read some statistic some where, that Lightroom on the Mac has twice the install base as Aperture.

    I think it is awesome to have these types of tools at our disposal. It only makes sense, photographers used to perform some of their magic in a darkroom, now we have post processing tools for digital photos that allow us to take our photos to the next level.

  3. teeni Says:

    Wow. It’s nice to see you playing with the photos and making them even prettier. It’s funny to think they can be improved upon like that, but you did it. I like that you didn’t go overboard with them and if you hadn’t shown the before and after I never would have known the photos had been enhanced. I’m impressed.

  4. Thomas Says:

    teeni – Thanks for the compliments, I wanted to play with some post processing programs to see what I could come up with. As I mentioned I did not want to radically alter the photographs, just enchance them a little bit. I am pretty pleased with the results.

    I wanted to show the before and after pictures just to demonstrate how some subtle changes can really make a difference.

  5. Actors and Actresses » Archive du blog » Post Processing Photos Thomas - Technical Blogger Says:

    […] / put together a great post today on Post Processing Photos Thomas – Technical BloggerHere’s a quick bit […]


Leave a Reply

