Apple Store Employees Are They All Dicks?

After reading about the performance of Windows Vista on a MacBook Pro in PC World’s article The Most Notable Notebooks of 2007 I figured I would check out the Apple store.

I walk into the store with my daughter, and we are looking around at all the sexy machines. Apple does make hardware that not only pleases the eyes, but has great features and functionality. We were politely approached by a few sales people to ask if we needed help, I declined because I just wanted to look around.

As I am drooling over an iMac with a 24 inch screen, that is one good looking screen, I hear the sales person next to me talking to a customer. Here are a few snippets of what I overheard:

  • Vista is a poor rip off of the Mac operating system of 5 years ago.
  • Microsoft is a bunch of lazy, ignorant hacks that just steal the work of others.

It was at this point that I took my daughter and walked out of the store. I told my daughter that only petty, small minded people say derogatory things to make themselves look better. To myself I wondered if all Apple store employees are such dicks? I would have said something to the Apple store employee, but how do you change someone that has such ingrained ideas?

In the past my overall perception of Apple users is that they are a bunch of elitist a-holes, and this incident does nothing to change that perception. I do know some Mac users that are more interested in using the technology that best suits their needs instead of having religious wars about operating systems, but this incident reinforces that elitist attitude I have encountered in the past.

This incident makes me want to rethink purchasing a Mac. I will go check another Mac store to see if I have to put up with this kind of crappy attitude in order to purchase Apple hardware. I will have to say that I was bummed by this encounter. As I have said before I like to make myself better, by bettering the people around me, not tearing them down.

The Mac I was thinking of purchasing – I may not now, because who wants to deal with a bunch of dicks?

Technorati Tags: , , ,

16 Responses to “Apple Store Employees Are They All Dicks?”

  1. teeni Says:

    Thomas, if you think the machine is a good one then don’t let that incident stop you. People may be dicks but that doesn’t make the machine or operating system a dick. It’s unfortunate that we all have to deal with people like that in every day life. But that doesn’t make all Apple employees dicks. Some people just always will BE dicks and some people just happen to HAVE dicks. Hopefully the next store will have someone who is not a dick, and maybe even better, someone who is neither a be-er nor a have-er (a woman). LOL. Seriously, don’t let one bad Apple spoil the whole bunch (my apologies to the Jackson Five for that last).

  2. Thomas Says:

    teeni – In the end I know that you are right. This incident just left a bad taste in my mouth. As I said I have dealt with the Mac elitist attitude before, I just haven’t seen that type of outward hostility towards Microsoft in a long time.

  3. Nancy Says:

    Thomas,
    Don’t despair! Now, here’s what to do: leave the mall area immediately! Head across the river to MacForce, located at 100 SE Salmon (it’s a gem tucked away in SE industrial). Park for free and marvel at their super-cool showroom. The staff there are known for being down-to-earth and helpful. You deserve a Mac today.
    -Nancy

  4. Thomas Says:

    Nancy – Thanks for the great advice. I will definitely check out MacForce. If they are cool as you say, I will have to post a review of the store. As for me, I will not be going back into the store at Cedar Mills.

  5. TGH Says:

    Hopefully this attitude is only at this level of the organization. One of my favorite things about the blogosphere are the people in the high profile companies blogging and actually being critical at times of their own companies and praising their competitors. I find it much easier to read blogs and listen to podcasts where the host is truly interested in the industry and talking about all of the good and bad in it.
    My biggest selling point on a Mac right now is Parallels and I would run multiple operating systems. By downplaying Windows, they are eliminating one of the most interesting features of the product in my opinion. Rather than bashing Windows, they could say all systems have their pluses and minuses and with Parallels can you give the best of all worlds. Not only would they have sold their Mac, but maybe some additional software to go along with it.

  6. Thomas Says:

    TGH – I agree with you, instead of bashing the competition, sell them a computer to run the software. It just sucks to encounter this type of attitude.

    You are right, they should be touting the fact that Macs run Vista the best. Buy a Mac to run Windows Vista. People will have to use the Mac OS to get to Windows running and they might even get a few converts in the process.

  7. Mark Says:

    I am a bit surprised that you would even post this. You sound shocked that the cult of Mac is this way.

    first: they are correct that Vista is a rip-off of Mac. Mac is a rip-off of XEROX PARC’s 8010 (aka Star).

    second: as for lazy hacks, well no they are not lazy.
    People who use Macs tend to value aesthetics over all else. They have never been much of a mature bunch. They are the cool kids. did you notice the outfits?

    The reason I won’t buy a Mac is that algore sits on their board and they seem to be more impressed with him winning some bullcrap award than with business people doing something useful.

    I just don’t see the point in purchasing overpriced equipment that is only going to pay for more propaganda.

  8. Opal Tribble/ Says:

    Of course they aren’t all dicks. It sounds like the rep was trying to make the Mac more appealing by shooting down Windows OS. I never thought that was smart.

    I’ve been to stores that sell Windows OS and seen the same thing. It did not make me run out because I happened to be a Mac user. I knew they did not know what they were talking about.

    I like it for the aesthetics and it’s performance both are excellent in my opinion. I need something that performs not just looks “pretty”. πŸ˜‰

    That being said I’ve never had that problem at my Apple Store then again I might not be there on the right day. Perhaps there are employees that do that to sell a product there but it would not change my view of the product. It would change my view on them as an individual.

    You’ll have jerks working at a variety of companies it does not mean the company is bad and it should not be a reflection on those of us who use their products but you know that. πŸ˜‰

    Funny that you created this topic I wrote a brief article about labels earlier this morning before I popped by here, lol.

  9. Thomas Says:

    Mark – Thanks for commenting, you address some excellent points. Honestly it has been a while since I have dealt with Mac people. I have some friends that use them, and they don’t have this attitude, so when I encountered it I was taken aback. I was also shocked by the open hostility they demonstrated towards Microsoft and Vista.

    I used to work / live in the Bay Area, so I am familiar with the ABM, Anything but Microsoft mentality, but I guess I have become insulated by my time as a Microsoft employee. When I look around me, I am surrounded by a hard working group, and I kind of took the lazy, hack comment personally. PC World recently did a study that stated the MacBook Pro runs Vista faster then typical PC hardware. If you factor in that a Mac would be considered a higher end laptop or system, the prices kind of even out a bit. This peaked my interest and made me want to take a look at the machines. I just want to buy the best tool for the job.

    I think you hit the nail on the head, when you mention that Windows or Mac aren’t really original, stating the old Xerox Parc system. I think people forget or overlook the origin of these Windows based operating systems.

    Opal – I agree, you just don’t get ahead by being derogatory towards the competition. I agree with TGH, at this point I think they should promote the fact that Vista runs better on Mac hardware. People buy Macs to run Vista and then find they enjoy Macs also. Nancy left a comment about MacForce being a good store in my local area, so I might check them out.

    It is possible that these comments could be an isolated incident, but like I said I kind of took the lazy hack comment personally.

    Hopefully this post is a reminder to people that you don’t have to tear down the competition to build yourself up. Tout your strenghts and let the informed customer decide which is best.

  10. Leah Soro Says:

    My boyfriend worked at an Apple store and they are not trained to be elitist at all! In fact, they are trained to mention PC’s and microsoft as little as possible. Dicks come in all shapes and sizes and use many different operating systems. How great are you judging an entire company by an isolated incident of an overheard conversation? Isnt that like the pot calling the kettle black? I’ve gone into 4 stores in various part of the world and I can honestly say I’ve never received such care and attention before, during and AFTER a purchase as I have in an apple store. That makes it easy to become a bit elitest. Not because your product is better than another but because you are treated as such.

  11. Milly Says:

    The only vague idiocy I came into contact with when I bought an imac was when the sales guy insisted on hi-5’ing me when the transaction was concluded, dragging me into his dickery!! It was cringeworthy!

    To be fair, when I chatted to a salesman from a non-apple store about whether I should buy one of the PC’s his store sold or an imac (that his store didn’t sell) he slammed apple macs and apple users left, right and centre. So I think it cuts both ways. Everyone just wants to sell their product at the end of the day and will say whatever they have to to do it. It pays the bills at the end of the day.

  12. Jared Says:

    I think your response and observations about the unprofessional nature of the employee was fair enough. You might be careful calling the apple store guy a dick, though. In my past experience I’ve found that most people who label people dicks are much the same. Thanks for sharing. I’ll admit as a mac fan, I’m partial to encourage mac use instead of windows. You might mention the incident to a store manager though. I think they’re pretty big on customer satisfaction.

  13. Blackie Says:

    I used to do tech support for Adobe and Microsoft products. I learned that software design has its problems and that calling people “dumb” and “clueless” because they don’t understand the mouse or the countless times I heard jokes about CD trays and cupholders points to poor education and often design of said software. Arguing about which is better is like people telling you your choice of music sucks. Come again? Because you like Mozart and I like Metallica means we need to hear each others music not deride it as sucky. I use both Macs and PCs. There are clearly some design choices I’d like to see on the other brands machine. Intuition and ergonomics can be quite subjective.

  14. An Apparent Dick Says:

    Does it actually matter??? I’m sure we wont lose to much business from a total dick like yourself.

    • Otis Says:

      You just proved his point, dumbass. The funny thing is that in 15 years they’ll be coming into the store for their umpteenth Apple product and you will still be the guy ringing up their purchase. I hope playing Dungeons and Dragons in your parents’ basement for the rest of your life is appealing to you.

  15. Otis Says:

    I don’t know where you are but I’ve visited an Apple store twice. Both times at two different stores, they’ve been elitist assholes. Tonight I heard this little gem from the guy running the cash register: “Oh, I could never date her, she uses a blackberry”.

    Personally, I’m completely dissatisfied with my new 32G iphone. My blackberry may not have been near as sleek, but in three years of operation, I never had to worry about it working or having the battery run out of juice in half a day.

    As far as I’m concerned, their products are for kids and housewives. They’re nice and pretty but hardly functional in the real world.

    In the end, who cares what kind of system you use as long as it works for you. I don’t need some dipshit whippersnapper who reads Electronics Monthly religiously from his parents’ basement to tell me that my product is inferior when he doesn’t even have the foggiest concept of what business is all about.


Leave a Reply

