Celebrating a Page Rank Drop

Life in the Country Logo

After the last round of Google Page Ranks, there appeared to be quite a shake up of rankings. Some blogs that were posted higher dropped in ranking for reasons that are not immediately evident. Snoskred at Life in the Country wrote about A Little Competition To Celebrate My Page Rank Drop. In this post she defines the problem she has encountered with Google Page rank:

This time last week, my site www.snoskred.org had a page rank of 4. Now, I seem to have a page rank of 3. I cannot work out why this would be so – all the advertising I have been doing is over at the old site, which continues to have a page rank of 4. However Wendy Piersall reports that Mommybloggers seem to have been hit. If that’s the case, perhaps someone should let Google know I have kitties, and not kids!

Then Snoskred steps up to the plate and outlines a competition celebrating her page rank drop.

– Write about the competition on your blog and link back to my blog however you like in that post – you receive 5 entries (be sure to comment on this post with a link to your post so I can make sure you get your entries)

– Comment here on the blog – you receive 1 entry. You can comment as many times as you like during the month. Each comment = 1 entry

– I will be putting entries into the prize drawing bowl daily.

On the 14th of December, I will draw the winners.

Now you may be thinking – hey it’s already the 14th in New South Wales when this is being posted. I am not concerned with entering the competition, I am posting this for a couple of reasons:

  • I consider Snoskred to be a friend who writes good, interesting content.
  • I believe that people should be made aware of good content regardless of their Google Page Rank.
  • Link Karma is good.

On her blog Snoskred documents one of her favorite past times ‘scambaiting’ and has weekly guest posts from other bloggers. She also documents her life in the country in Australia.

Snoskred’s competition epitomizes the spirit of ‘When life gives you lemons, make lemonade” and it is this attitude along with her content that I am happy to recommend “Life in the County” as good reading.

8 Responses to “Celebrating a Page Rank Drop”

  1. Opal Tribble/Vegan Momma Says:

    I agree it’s good to link out to people. It’s something I do all the time. I rarely link out to the extremely populare websites. They get a lot of attention anyway so I’ll try to send links to the regular people. I feel they need them more. The majority of the linkbacks I receive are from people I’ve never met. It’s a great way to meet new people.

    Yes quite a few webmasters were upset with the page drop. To be honest it didn’t bother me because I suspected that was going to happen all the signs were there if you checked out Matt Cutts blog then again I don’t care about Page Rank although many have told me I should. Two of my websites went down to 0 funny thing is one of them never had reviews for pay however I did write personal reviews.

  2. Snoskred Says:

    After I wrote about the competition I dropped down to a 0, actually. Apparently I got my page rank back. I don’t know for sure, because I haven’t checked it. The damage is already done as far as I am concerned. I have not been to most Google sites in just under a month now. The only one I have been to is my old blogger, and that was mainly to delete old posts I had there.

    I can’t rely on Google anymore and I recommend to all bloggers that you seek out alternatives. Most of the alternatives I found are actually better than the Google services I used to use.

    Thomas more than likely you more than most other bloggers know the problems involved in being a huge company due to working for one of the biggest.. Google is going down a bad road. They should put on the brakes and do a u-turn!

    I think Microsoft has learnt a lot of difficult lessons over the years. There are people who are holding grudges against Microsoft from years back – and they will never change their minds about that. It wouldn’t matter what excellent things Microsoft did, their minds are made up. I believe that is happening to Google right now. I’m one of the people who has decided to steer clear of Google because I do not like to see a huge company act like a schoolyard bully.

    Thanks for writing about the contest – you got in just in time! 🙂

    Cheers,
    Snoskred

  3. teeni Says:

    It seems everyone is taking a PR hit. Is anyone actually making out I wonder? I don’t understand a lot of what is going on here but it would be nice to have a clue as to what they are looking for and basing their ratings on.

  4. Thomas Says:

    Opal – Your blog is an example of being willing to link to other blogs. You always give credit for content where credit is due, and frequently link to blogs that contain good content. Page Rank is something that I will have to investigate a bit more, because truthfully it is not something I really have a great handle on. I did not even realize my own page rank until you told me. I have been pretty fortunate that my blog is new enough that I had a previous page rank of 0, so any improvement from that is great.

    Snoskred – You are right, once people get burned they are definitely hesitant to use or promote a product. I periodically get people angry with me because of Microsoft. When I ask them what the issue is, it is normally from something from a while ago, or they parrot public perception that may not be accurate. I appreciate the anger you have because you have a decent understanding about the circumstances surrounding your issue.

    I agree I do not appreciate it when big companies act like a bully. That is one of the reasons that I blog just to demonstrate that the people at Microsoft care about our work and the products and we are doing are best to make things better from the inside.

    teeni – My blog is new enough that I did not initially have a page rank. When the page ranks came out, I was fortunate enough to have a page rank of 5. I think that it helps my blog is mostly focused on being a technical blog. I think Google Page Ranks is definitely an issue worth investigating.

  5. Bush Mackel Says:

    My PR is the big 0 now but FINALLY taking the advice of Opal T, I’m beginning to take steps so that I don’t need PR to be successful. As I’ve noted in the past though, the PR b*tch slap could be the first warning of “the next step” (being removal from Google entirely) and THAT’s something I want to avoid so I think I’m going to appeal to Google to get my PR back after I make some changes on my site.

  6. Thomas Says:

    Bush Mackel – Thanks for stopping by! Sorry to hear that you were one of the bloggers negatively impacted by the PR issue. You can’t go wrong with advice from Opal’s. She really get’s blogging and building community. I would be interested in following the steps you take with Google and how it works out – I think that would be a really interesting post.
    Good luck with your PR.

  7. Bush Mackel Says:

    I’ll keep ya informed, and I’m glad I found your site again. THIS time I’ll make sure to grab the feed!

  8. Thomas Says:

    Bush Mackel – Nice to have you back ;). I’ll look forward to reading how your adventure with Google goes. You might want to review a great article by David Airey who ran into a similar problem How I reversed my Google ranking penalty. I think you will find some good information there.


Leave a Reply

