Halo 3 – Get Ready The Quest is On

I just received an email about the launch of Halo 3 in 120 days on September 25 – which is my birthday by the way. The beta is wrapping up and a new phase is beginning.

There is an extended treasure hunt for fans of Halo worldwide. The treasure hunt will include previously unknown information about the Halos, the Flood, the Forerunners and the true origins of the Halo trilogy.

The treasure hunts seems to start with the following symbol and the site http://www.halo3.com:

This is how it all begins.
An adventure that will reveal the truth about our galaxy,
A path from which a true hero will emerge.
Follow the signs to victory.

This email was sent to Halo fans to get them started.

HISTORY CIRCLING
BACK UPON US.

The gears of the Universe spin further
and further apart.
Ever greater grows the gulf between souls,
And distance gives false hope of safety
But for the grim tidings this messenger bears:

The enemy is almost upon us.

Closing in from all sides,
Moving faster than the light
it snuffs with its passage,
Time echoes with the news of destruction.
History winding back upon itself.

Waves of an army march this way in unison, Suffering and corruption are its battle cries.
For I have known this darkness
and felt its embrace once before-
Horror best laid to rest

Yet a Journey must commence.

Look for the signs, the keepers of the flame.
They will lead you to war, and perhaps, to victory.

I am a fan of treasure hunts, so I will be interested to see how this one turns out. The servers don’t seem to be unlocked yet, but there are other areas of the website that you will be able to access.

Technorati tags: , , , , ,

7 Responses to “Halo 3 – Get Ready The Quest is On”

  1. Opal: Vegan Momma Says:

    Oh nice! I love Halo! Sadly I haven’t had a chance to play Halo 3 Beta. I’m happy to hear it will be released this year. I wasn’t expecting that to come out until 2008

  2. Thomas Says:

    Opal – I had fun playing the Halo 3 Beta. I have to admit the people that spent a lot of time in got pretty good. I had a good time even though I was pretty much cannon fodder for those that were much better.

    I also had a lot of fun playing Crackdown, the game I used to download the Halo 3 Beta. At one point, I needed to go do something so I let my 13 yo daughter take the controls, she managed to use ALL my amunition in under 4 minutes. She just smiled and said – well at least I got rid of a lot of bad guys 😉

    Even if you didnt’ participate in the Beta, you can still participate in the treasure hunt.

  3. Opal: The Raw & The Cooked Says:

    Cool! I think I’ll join in. Yes, I have Crackdown also. I mainly bought it for Halo 3 Beta, and I found out that I actually liked Crackdown. I downloaded the Halo 3 Beta a few weeks ago. I just never got around to playing it. Bah!

  4. Thomas Says:

    I found Crackdown to be pretty addictive. Another game that I really enjoy, and my daughter loves it too, is Viva Pnata.

    If you haven’t played it, it is very addictive. You daughter will enjoy playing this one. You run a garden to try and attract pinata animals to come and hang out. It is very easy to get started, but there are a lot of different things you can do.

    The higher pinata’s have requirements. You need to have this plant, and so many of this other animail. You need to keep your pinata’s happy, and there are ruffians that will come and mess up your garden. If you haven’t tried this game, you definitely should.

    As I said the Beta was fun, but you wonder how people get so good. Being a parent and working, it is hard to get a lot of time to invest in a game like that. My daughter said boys at her school would rush home to play the beta. I read somewhere that with all the hours people accrued playing the game, totaled out to something like 1,400 years worth of hours – Wow.

  5. Opal: The Raw & The Cooked Says:

    We have Viva Pinata!
    My daughter loves the game.
    Wow 1400 years, eh? That’s a lot of time. 🙂

  6. Opal: Vegan Momma Says:

    ..and yes we have run into the ruffians already. My daughter likes watching me play as she tells me whom to look out for. She basically waters the garden in the game.

  7. Thomas Says:

    Opal – I agree that it is fun to play video games with your kids – it sounds like your daughter is really helping you out. I look up fancy pinatas at Pinata Island and Nicole always wants to know how I got the Dragon, or the lion.
    The battle has died down a bit, but we used to ‘battle’ about who would get to play 😉 – We had quite a bit of fun playing that game.
    Check out the link to Pinata Island – you will find it to be an excellent resource for tending your garden.


Leave a comment