Doctor with a Tablet PC

This past Monday I got a physical, you know the whole works. Not fun, but the nurse did say I was a hottie and I had a nice hat, so it wasn’t all bad.

So am I brining up my trip to put my compliments in print . . . no.

The Doctor walks in, with a tablet PC. All the questions he asks, he writes the answers on his tablet. He said he got it about two weeks ago, and so far was pretty happy with it.

We discussed his use of technology, he currently has a palm and a separate phone, I think I might have converted him to Windows Mobile 6, showing him my AT&T 8125. He liked having the PDA, phone and camera all in a single device.

OneNoteHe mentioned that the tablet came with OneNote, which being a Content Developer, I live in. Besides Outlook, OneNote is probably one of the applications I use most during my day. The Doctor said he didn’t quite have the hang of OneNote yet, so I gave him so pointers, and suggested he read the tutorial information that came with it. As a Doctor, how can he not like a program that aggregates all types of content:

  • Text
  • Graphics
  • Web Pages
  • Audio
  • Video

OneNote is a pretty powerful tool. If you haven’t checked it out yet, you probably should. I would have liked to have spoken with him further, but the Doctor was finished.

To the Doctor that gave me a clean bill of health, good luck with your tablet PC. I would be interested to speak with him again in a couple of months to hear how he is doing with it.

Technorati Tags: , ,

16 Responses to “Doctor with a Tablet PC”

  1. James Says:

    I’m the same way. I don’t know how I’d get through the day without my OneNote. Easily the 2nd most used program besides Outlook.

    Everyon I’ve pitched it to has loved it as well. Outstanding program.

  2. Barbara Duck (The Medical Quack) Says:

    Tell your doctor about the Ablet Factory…One Note software for physicians. Fritz does some real good work there and have featured him on my “Medical Quack” blog as well. I have a lot of tablet information on the site as it relates to health care including a couple videos with Vista dictation and the tablet too.

    http://www.abletfactory.com/

  3. Thomas Says:

    James – Nice to ‘see’ you. I agree, I would be lost without OneNote. It took me a couple of starts to get the hang of it, but now I love it. I am the same way, people in my group joke that I must be on the payroll of the OneNote group as much as I talk about it.

    Barbara Duck – Thank you for commenting and the links to the great resources. I will let my doctor know about the Ablet Factory, and the resources on your site.
    One of the cool things about blogging, is that people pitch in, and send you links to good resources. Thanks!

  4. Doctor with a Tablet PC- Technical Blogger - The Medical Quack .... by Barbara Duck Says:

    […] Doctor with a Tablet PC « Thomas – Technical Blogger Share this post: email it! | bookmark it! | digg it! | live it! […]

  5. Opal Tribble Says:

    I’m fascinated with the tablets. One of these days I’m going to try it out.

    I know they make something similar that you can use to draw. I’ve been looking at it for my MacBook Pro. I think it would take some of my creations to another digital level.

  6. Thomas Says:

    Opal – Tablets seem pretty cool, just with some of the work I do, I am not sure they have the horsepower I need.

    The device used to draw is a Wacom. It allows you to draw on the ‘pad’ and the information is transferred to your computer. For image manipulation like you do it is an excellent tool.

  7. teeni Says:

    Tablets do look cool and I have seen a lot more high tech gadgets at the doctors’ when I go too. Even the dentist. I think it makes a lot of sense for them to have tablets and such. It really makes things easier and you don’t have all the giant hardware anymore.

    Plus it makes it easier to handle when you see their bills. heehee.

  8. Thomas Says:

    teeni – I always appreciate seeing the different ways that technology is used. Like I said I would like to go back to the doctor in a couple of months to talk to him about how he feels the technology is working for him.

  9. Daniel Escapa's OneNote Blog : OneNote Blog Round-up for Nov 2007 Says:

    […] "I don’t know how I’d get through the day without my OneNote. Easily the 2nd most u… […]

  10. OneNote Blog Round-up for Nov 2007 - Noticias externas Says:

    […] "I don’t know how I’d get through the day without my OneNote. Easily the 2nd most u… […]

  11. MSDN Blog Postings » OneNote Blog Round-up for Nov 2007 Says:

    […] "I don’t know how I’d get through the day without my OneNote. Easily the 2nd most u… […]

  12. Robert Frisenda Says:

    Hello:
    I am a surgeon in solo practice who has been using one note mobile for 1 yr to record voice files on XP.
    I want to begin using OneNote for my pts medical record. Input includes voice recognition (Dragon), autotext macros, untranscribed voice files and scanned documents primarily. Is this possible?
    What is the maximum notebooks?
    Do you know of anyone doing it?
    Thanks

  13. Thomas Says:

    Robert – I sent you an email.
    I don’t see why OneNote won’t meet the needs that you have outlined. You can embed any type of file onto a OneNote 2007 page. Macros will work with OneNote, and I have not heard any compatibility problems using Dragon.

    The issue that I think you would still run into is storage of these patient notes. I think that OneNote would be a fine tool to create the notes in, but you would need some type of system for long term secure store of this information. Just having the information on the laptop is fine, but if anything happens to the hard drive all that information would be lost.

  14. lisa Says:

    “Tablets do look cool and I have seen a lot more high tech gadgets at the doctors’ when I go too. Even the dentist. ”

    I agree. Tablet PCs will make doctor’s notes go out of service.. which will be a good thing. Otherwise kids go to places like http://bestfakedoctornotes.com to get out of work or school. Its time that stuff comes to an end.

  15. Mr. Tablets PC Says:

    Hi !, you have a great blog here! I’m definitely going to bookmark you! Thank you for your info.And this is Tablets Computers site/blog. It pretty much covers Tablets Computers related stuff.

  16. Oral Healthm Says:

    Fastidious respond iin return oof this query wijth real arguments and explaining everything regarding that.


Leave a comment